tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1

RECTIFY SEASON 1

MovieTV series
DramaTV Series
Just Bridge
19/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Fans of series will surely know the fine label Just Entertainment that offers us, on an almost monthly base, series that are lesser known over here, but surely as good as the ones that come from the big production houses. New in the catalogue is Rectify. Due to the huge success, the cover screams that it has been produced by the same people who did Breaking Bad, but that’s not all. Not only is the series shown on Sundance Channel, you can regularly find this title in the top 10 of US critics. Rectify is indeed one of the better series of the moment, which you probably don’t know yet.

Daniel Holden (Aden Young) is already 19 years in prison. He’s waiting in the death row because he’s been accused of killing and raping his girlfriend Hanna. Completely out of the blue, new DNA-material arises. All proof points out that Daniel wasn’t the villain, and he is released from prison. Of course the problem is still not solved. Not only the viewer is facing this question, both his friends and family are upset. Freedom isn’t a gift for Daniel either. During his two decadesin prison, the world has changed and the isolation has turned him into a complete stranger. He wants to avoid doubts about his innocence and starts an investigation, which provides surprising insights. His stepbrother Ted Talbot Jr (Clayne Crawford) isn’t pleased at all with his return as he starts wondering what the consequences might be for the family firm he’s running. The only one who seems to understand him is Ted’s wife (Adelaide Clemens), but she’s convinced that the answer to Daniel's problems lies with God.

The longer the series lasts, the more you start wondering if Daniel is innocent or not. The man has a quite schizophrenic character and you ask yourself why he has confessed the murder back then. Questions that other countries may have an answer to already, as in the US the series is already in its third season. In the Benelux we have to start from zero, and this first season has given us enough reasons to look forward to what’s coming next. Decent acting, original and a story structure that makes you wish for more.

Didier BECU
19/06/2015


NL

Liefhebbers van series zullen zonder twijfel Just Entertainment wel kennen, het label dat bijna op maandelijkse basis reeksen uitbrengt die bij ons iets minder bekend (maar daarom niet minder goed) zijn. Nieuw in hun catalogus is Rectify. Niet alleen zijn het de producers die in het oog springen (die van Breaking Bad), maar ook het feit dat de serie wordt uitgezonden door de kwaliteitszender Sundance Channel en een notering in de top 10 van heel wat Amerikaanse critici is een handig surplus om de twijfelende kijker, die vaak het bos door de bomen niet meer ziet, te overtuigen. En jawel, Rectify is één van de betere series van het moment (die je waarschijnlijk nog niet kent).

Daniel Holden (Aden Young) zit al 19 jaar in de cel te wachten op de doodstraf tot er plotseling DNA-materiaal opduikt waarmee bewezen kan worden dat hij misschien niet de dader van de moord op zijn toenmalige vriendin Hanna was. De man komt vrij, maar natuurlijk blijft de vraag of hij haar vermoord heeft of niet. Het is niet alleen de kijker die met dit probleem zit, ook zijn zus, vrienden en familie vragen zich af of Daniel al of niet een monster is. Voor Daniel wordt het vrije leventje geen lachertje. Twintig jaar achter de tralies hebben van hem een bijna wereldvreemde man gemaakt. Hij is echter niet van plan om de twijfel te laten voortduren en trekt daarom zelf op onderzoek uit. Het duurt niet lang vooraleer hij beseft dat hij maar beter niet al zijn vrienden blindelings had vertrouwd. Ook zijn stiefbroer Ted Talbot Jr (Clayne Crawford) is niet echt tevreden met Daniels terugkeer. Hij vraagt zich af wat de impact daarvan zal zijn op het familiebedrijf. Wel kan Daniel bij Teds vrouw (Adelaide Clemens) terecht, maar deze gelovige vrouw denkt dat het antwoord op Daniels problemen bij God te vinden is.

Hoe langer de serie duurt hoe meer je gaat twijfelen aan Daniels onschuld. De man heeft een vrij schizofreen karakter, en je vraagt je ook af waarom hij de moord bekende. Het zijn vragen waarop men in andere landen al een veel duidelijker zicht heeft (ten minste dat denken we toch), want in de VS is men ondertussen al aan een derde seizoen bezig. Voorlopig moeten we het in de Benelux stellen met het eerste, maar wat ons betreft zijn we meer dan voldoende warm gemaakt voor wat nog komen moet. Degelijk geacteerd, origineel en een verhaallijn die je steeds doet verlangen naar meer. Het eerste seizoen van Rectify is nu (in een zeer knappe) box beschikbaar op Just Entertainment.

Didier BECU
19/06/2015


19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1 19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1 19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1 19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1 19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1 19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1 19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1 19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1 19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1 19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1 19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1 19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1 19/06/2015 :  - RECTIFY SEASON 1

 

Next reviews
DOUGLAS SIRK • All That Heaven Allows
MRDTC • Straight from Nothington
JENNIFER KENT • The Babadook
CULTURE • On The Frontline
ORSON WELLES • Too Much Johnson
MICHAEL MANN • Blackhat
AH CAMA-SOTZ • State Of Mind
TOA FRASER • The Dead Lands
SIMON WEST • Wild Card
ELECTRONICS • Electro Radio broadcast from Neubrandenburg

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: DRAMA + TV SERIES
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
• INDIAN SUMMERS
• The Cazalets -The Complete Series
• MR SELFRIDGE SEASON 2
• THE MISSING
• The Newsroom-Season 2
• The Driver
• HOTEL ADLON
• DOWNTOWN ABBEY SEASON 4
EDGAR REITZ • Die andere Heimat

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
08
AMMO
Rose + Crown
05
08
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us