tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3

STRIKE BACK SEASON 3

MovieTV series
ActionTV Series
Warner Home Video
18/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Today, television stations try everything to make their series look like films. Money is not important (at least that is what we think) and lots of films simply fade next to current series. There are plenty of examples, but if you have to choose the ultimate action series, then Strike Back is without doubt one of the best.

Critics often compare the style of Strike Back with the work of Guy Richie and Paul Greengrass, and that's not such a crazy comparison, because the uptight camerawork of Strike Back makes you feel like you are in the middle of the action. This Cinemax-production was especially in English-speaking countries a huge success. In England, fiv e seasons have been released, but because the series was detected at a much later stage here, the third season is now in the shops.

This ten-part series is based on the book by former SAS soldier Chris Ryan and focuses on the elite team Section 20 (a part of MI6, since the third season under the leadership of Major Rachel Dalton (Rhona Mitra). This time the team is sent to Africa because a cargo of nuclear weapons has fallen into wrong hands during a mission in Somalia. Section 25 has to deal with the millionaire Conrad Knox (Charles Dance) who wants to use these nuclear weapons to strengthen the position of his own private army. Although this mission forms the main part of the third season, there are also a lot of other stories added, so we get to know better the Section 20-members. They behave like superheroes, but in their hearts they are simple people who are full of doubts, they’re fighting machines with a conscience. Michael Stonebridge (Philip Winchester) is seeking revenge on Craig Hanson (Shane Taylor), the murderer of his wife, and his American colleague Damien Scott (Sullivan Stapleton) has to deal with CIA agent Christy Bryant ( Stephanie Vogt).

Perhaps you could say that the characters are a bit flat, but tension and action create so much adrenaline that you forget that quickly. The stories are not always credible, but on the other hand, the characters are real, and not the kind of Rambo’s like only Hollywood can create them. Or to summarize it in one sentence: anyone who wants to see sublime action, can take Strike Back at home. The third season is now out on Warner, both on DVD and Blu-ray. 

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


NL

Tegenwoordig proberen televisiestations alles om hun series er als films uit te laten zien. Er wordt niet naar het kostenplaatje gekeken (ten minste dat denken we toch) en vaak verbleken heel wat films als je ze naast de huidige overvloed van series legt. Er zijn voorbeelden genoeg, maar als je de ultieme actieserie uit het torenhoge aanbod moet lichten, dan is Strike Back zonder meer één van de allerbeste in zijn soort.

Buitenlandse recensenten vergelijken de stijl van Strike Back vaak met die van Guy Richie en Paul Greengrass, en dat is niet eens zo’n maffe vergelijking, want net als bij deze gerenommeerde cineasten zorgt ook hier het hypernerveuze camerawerk ervoor dat het lijkt alsof je middenin de actie zit. Vooral in de Engelstalige landen is deze productie van Cinemax een gigantisch succes. In Engeland heeft men ondertussen met het vijfde seizoen definitief het doek over deze actiereeks gegooid, maar omdat het hier een tijdje duurde vooraleer men Strike Back ontdekte, zitten wij nog maar aan het derde seizoen.

Deze tiendelige reeks is gebaseerd op het gelijknamige boek van de gewezen SAS-soldaat Chris Ryan en spitst zich toe op het eliteteam Section 20 (een onderdeel van MI6) dat sinds het derde seizoen onder leiding staat van Majoor Rachel Dalton (Rhona Mitra). Meteen wordt het team naar Afrika gestuurd omdat een lading nucleaire wapens tijdens een missie in Somalië in de verkeerde handen zijn gevallen. Daarmee komt het team tegenover de miljonair Conrad Knox (Charles Dance) te staan die de kernwapens wil gebruiken om de positie van zijn eigen privéleger te versterken. Alhoewel deze opdracht de hoofdbrok van dit derde seizoen vormt, zijn er ook een heleboel randverhalen waardoor we de leden van de Section 20 beter leren kennen. Ze gedragen zich als superhelden, maar in hun binnenste zijn het gewoon mensen vol twijfels, gevechtmachines met een geweten. Michael Stonebridge (Philip Winchester) is op zoek naar Craig Hanson (Shane Taylor), de moordenaar van zijn vrouw, en ook zijn Amerikaanse collega Damien Scott (Sullivan Stapleton) heeft een rekening te vereffenen, en wel met de CIA-agente Christy Bryant (Stephanie Vogt).

Je kan misschien wel zeggen dat men de karakters niet voldoende heeft uitgediept (bij welke actiereeks, behalve 24 misschien, doet men dat trouwens wel?), maar de spanning en de actie zorgen voor zo veel adrenaline dat je dat snel vergeet. De verhalen zijn niet altijd even geloofwaardig, maar daar staat tegenover dat de personages levensecht zijn en geen Rambos zoals alleen Hollywood ze kan bedenken. Of om het in één zin samen te vatten: wie sublieme actie wil, moet Strike Back in huis halen. Het derde seizoen is vanaf nu uit op Warner, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3

 

Next reviews
THE CHEMICAL BROTHERS • Born In The Echoes
DEZ MONA • Ten albums That Changed (our) Lives
HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DESIREE AKHAVAN • Appropriate Behavior
DEAD • TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)
FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS • Decency
DAVID CRONENBERG • Maps To The Stars
CESAR CANALI (VOLKOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
KAMMARHEIT • The Nest

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: ACTION + TV SERIES
• Arrow-Season 2
• Chicago Fire Season 2
• NIKITA Season 4
• Nikita, Season 3

 

Same genre: ACTION
GEORGE MILLER • Mad Max: Fury Road
JULIUS AVERY • Son Of A Gun
JAUME COLLET-SERRA • Run All Night
JAMES WAN • Fast & Furious 7
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
TERENCE YOUNG • Dr. No
JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI • Beyond The Reach
GILLES BEHAT • Rue Barbare
• THE 100 SEASON 1
• PERSON OF INTERST SEASON 3

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)