tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO

THE FALL SERIES TWO

MovieTV series
CrimeTV Series
RLJ Entertainment
06/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

For those who still don’t believe it: crime series are back. Thanks to Scandinavia the bar for the whole world is set higher. You notice that in for example The Fall, because although there is no Swedish or Norwegian word to be heard, you immediately think of the quality of The Bridge or The Killing. Just to say that it is a crime series that sticks six hours long (spread over as many episodes) to your pants.

The success of The Fall was in Britain so immense that a second series was announced, which of course is great news for compatriot Jakob Verbruggen (Code 37) who directed this prestigious project. Of course we must not forget that the main role is played by Gillian Anderson, the FBI agent Dr. Dana Scully of The X-Files will indeed always remain immensely popular.

Anderson plays the role of Detective Stella Gibson who is struggling with a dark past and is sent from London to Belfast to solve the murder on a successful woman. Gibson soon finds the trail of serial killer Paul Spector (Jamie Dornan), a slick guy and a family man at first sight, but who likes to play lots of perverse games once his wife is not looking. Grasping him is quite another matter and as expected Gibson has failed to do so in the first season (why else would they make a second one?) Besides, the screenplay by Allan Cubitt, who also wrote episodes of The Runaway and Murphy's Law, puts the viewer constantly in doubt. We suspect that Spector is the brutal killer, but are we sure? Furthermore, the makers leave the door open for a next season. We hope that will be te case, because The Fall managed to enchant us six hours long.

The Fall is released on DVD through RLJ Entertainment.

Didier BECU
06/01/2015


NL

Voor wie er nog zou durven aan twijfelen: de crimeserie is weer helemaal terug. Dankzij de Scandinavische reeksen werd de lat voor heel de wereld hoger gelegd. Dat merk je ook bijv. in The Fall, want ofschoon er geen Zweeds of Noors woord te horen valt, denk je meteen aan de kwaliteit van The Bridge of The Killing. Dit maar om te zeggen dat het een misdaadreeks is die zes uur lang (verdeeld over evenveel afleveringen) aan je broek blijft plakken.

Het succes van The Fall was in Groot-Brittannië zo groot dat er een tweede reeks werd aangekondigd, wat natuurlijk schitterend nieuws is voor landgenoot Jakob Verbruggen (Code 37) die dit prestigieuze project mocht regisseren. Natuurlijk mogen we niet uit het oog verliezen dat de hoofdrol wordt gespeeld door Gillian Anderson, de FBI-agent Dr. Dana Scully uit The X-Files zal immers altijd immens populair blijven.

Anderson vertolkt de rol van detective Stella Gibson (Gillian Anderson) die worstelt met een donker verleden en van Londen naar Belfast wordt gestuurd om een moord op een succesvolle vrouw op te lossen. Gibson komt vrij vlug op het spoor van seriemoordenaar Paul Spector (Jamie Dornan), een gladde kerel die op het eerste gezicht een brave huisvader is, maar buiten het gezichtsveld van zijn vrouw zich graag bezondigt aan een resem perverse spelletjes. Hem vatten is een heel ander paar mouwen en zoals verwacht is Gibson daar in het eerste seizoen niet in geslaagd (waarom zou men anders een tweede maken, niet?). Bovendien zet het script van Allan Cubitt, die ook afleveringen uit The Runaway en Murphy’s Law schreef, de kijker voortdurend op het verkeerde been. We vermoeden wel dat Spector de brute moordenaar is, maar zijn we wel juist in ons denken? Bovendien laten de makers de deur op een kier voor een eventueel volgend seizoen. We hopen het, want The Fall wist ons zes uur lang te bekoren.

 The Fall is uitgebracht op dvd via RLJ Entertainment.

Didier BECU
06/01/2015


06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO 06/01/2015 :  - THE FALL SERIES TWO

 

Next reviews
ANDRZEJ WAJDA • The Promised Land
IRIS • Radiant
CINEMUERTE • Dhist EP
DAVID WNENDT • Feuchtgebiete
EUGENIO MIRA • Blackmail (Grand Piano)
MARLENE DUMAS • The Image as Burden (Amsterdam, Stedelijk Museum)
ALASDAIR ROBERTS • Alasdair Roberts
LOST REALITY • Fleeting Awareness
• BANSHEE SEASON 2
OST+FRONT • Freundschaft EP

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + TV SERIES
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• THE TEAM SEASON 1
• LONGMIRE-SEASON 2
• THE FINDER
• BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 5
• BROADCHURCH SEASON 1
• THE CODE SEASON 1
• FOYLE'S WAR-SEASON 8
• BANSHEE SEASON 2

 

Same genre: CRIME
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'
12
06
Soft Cell's Tainted Love re-released by Cleopatra Records!
12
06
CARBON MARTYR Addresses Mankind & Technology With Debut Album
11
06
Darkwave Duo Band HANGING FREUD Speaks Of Loss And Transformation with 'Persona Normal'
11
06
30 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)
12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
11
06
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
11
06
PATIENCE
The Church (Night School, 2016)
10
06
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
09
06
FAUNA TWIN
Water On Mars