tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : 13TH MONKEY - Live at Forms of Hands 15

13TH MONKEY

Live at Forms of Hands 15

MusicDigital
DanceDark ElectroElectroElectronicsTechno Body Music

[90/100]   

Hands Productions
10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

13th Monkey treats itself with a birthday present: ten years after its creation and first performance, now a live edition of the gig on the Forms Of Hands Festival 2015 is out. Andreas Thedens and Harm Bemer, both from Luneburg (Germany), show that the rural village has more to offer than historic buildings, cows and sheep.

This gig is a sort of best-of of the CDs Redefining the Paradigm or Bang (2009) and Return of the Monkey (2011). New work has been announced, but in the meantime we have to be satisfied with a live concert by this dance sensation.

I had the luck to see this show myself (see attached video) and I was quite impressed by this energetic set. The techno-industrial sounds take you into the atmosphere of the dark alternative club scene.

The 145 bpm are sent into your brain and limbs and make it difficult to stand still. The sometimes hard pounding beats and repetitive melodies, topped with a generous portion of techno sounds, they offer you a chance to escape from this society for a while

Monotone, sometimes bombastic rhythms, create a sense of controlled chaos that feels euphoric in your head and sometimes they are topped with an ambient atmosphere or dark atmospheric effects which take your brain to the edge of madness. Only a trepanation can help to remove those hard and distorted rhythms.

Let yourself drift away on this wild danceable electronica, hard beats and dark basses that can’t be tamed.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

13th Monkey trakteert zichzelf op een verjaardagscadeau: tien jaar na de oprichting en de eerste voorstelling is er nu deze live-uitgave van het optreden op het Forms Of Hands-festival 2015. Andreas Thedens en Harm Bemer, beiden afkomstig uit het Duitse Lüneburg, bewijzen dat er in dit landelijk plaatsje meer te beleven en te zien is dan mooie historische gebouwen of grazende koeien en schapen.

Dit optreden is een soort best-of van hun studio-cd’s Redefining the Paradigm of Bang (2009) en Return of the Monkey (2011). Al een tijdje geleden dus. Nieuw werk werd al aangekondigd, maar ondertussen behelpen we ons met deze live danssensatie.

Ik had het geluk om persoonlijk aanwezig te zijn bij dit optreden (zie bijgevoegde video) en was behoorlijk onder de indruk van deze energieke set. De techno-industriële klanken brengen je direct in de sfeer van het donkere alternatieve clubcircuit.

De 145 Bpm worden keurig naar je brein en ledematen gestuurd, zodat het moeilijk is om stil te blijven staan. De soms hard beukende beats en repetitieve melodieën, overgoten met een flinke portie technoklanken, laten je even ontsnappen uit deze maatschappij.

Monotone, soms bombastische ritmes, creëren een gevoel van gecontroleerde chaos dat in je hoofd euforisch aanvoelt: klanken die soms zijn overgoten met een ambiënte sfeer of donkere atmosferische effecten die je brein op de rand van de waanzin brengen. Alleen een schedelboring kan hier helpen om de harde en vervormde ritmes vakkundig te verwijderen.

Laat je meedrijven op deze wilde dansbare electronica, harde beats en donkere bassen, die niet getemd willen worden en evolueren tot boeiende muziekparty waarvan we graag deel uitmaken.

https://pro.beatport.com/release/live-at-forms-of-hands-15/1748257

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TACOCAT • Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)
METROLAND • Synthetic Sound (EP)
CONTINENTAL LIAISON • Action Time/The Sublime (single)
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
SUUNS • Brussels, Botanique (22/05/2016)
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
GIOUMOURTZINA • Blakk Metall
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
WIELORYB • Semantik
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: DANCE
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DMX KREW • You Exist
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: TECHNO BODY MUSIC
ROUGE • Ultimatum
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
XOTOX • Essentials
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour