tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/04/2015 : 14ANGER - Hasta EP

14ANGER

Hasta EP

MusicCD
IndustrialTechno

[95/100]   

Digital Mutant
29/04/2015, Britta Tabrit

I guess now it’s time to think outside the box of Industrial, EBM, Harsh electro etc. I would like to take you on a journey to France. Don’t worry, I’m not going to write about Chansons.

With this review, I try to bring nearer to you a one-man-project called 14Anger. Clément Perez, aka 14Anger, is a French Techno DJ and producer. Being into Techno Classics and Future Electronics, he manages the balancing act between Underground Electro and mainstream technoid beats. Being a member of Axess Code in South France and has been organizing EBM – Industrial – Goth parties for 15 years.

14Anger was brought to life in 2013. So let’s start with “Hasta” which is a 5-tracks EP. The record fuddles with 3 original versions and 2 remixes by Dekode and Keepsakes and is being released on May, 5th 2015

Track 1 rushes in like a TGV train. After a short intro the attack on your ears begins, booms and rattles. When I read about 14Anger as being a Techno DJ, I honestly expected something else. Of course, you can now start an argument on what the word “TECHNO” really means. Some people subsume the whole world of electronic music as Techno. If you asked me to pin down this song, I would say it’s dark electronic style mixed with Techno elements. Now I’m nosy to check the other tracks!

“Saliva” appears more like a Techno track. There is no real melody audible. Tempest-tossed, this song is clearly influenced by Rave and Trance. It reminds me of a time when I was a huge fan of the German DJs Westbam, Sven Väth and Mark Spoon. But nevertheless it is interesting to listen to it by keeping the underground music idea in mind. It makes you get a completely different perception of what genres mean (or don’t).

The third original song, named “Coal”, stands out as it is a great industrial – noise masterstroke. Provocative and contentious, also a bit shrewish. 5.43 minutes of pure flowing adrenaline. Also suitable for dancefloors, both techno and dark electronic ones. This is really my favorite track on this EP!

The Dekode remix of “Hasta” is a tapered version of the original. Less rugged and somehow dull. My impression is that it sounds like an “underwater” version. Some of the noise elements appear like the breathing sounds of a diver and sonar waves from a submarine. Maybe I’m completely off the track now but that’s what came to my mind and also after listening to this a second time, these metaphors came to my inner eye. That’s nothing bad. On the contrary! Water is my favorite element and I like the idea of putting Industrial music into a diving suit! Well done remix!

The last song is a “Saliva” remix by the New-Zealand band “Keepsakes”. Techno is the keyword here. Rave parts and howling sound elements. To tell the truth, this one caught my unawareness. Hard stamping and only few brief respites came in like a firewall of sound. I’m not quite sure if this will please the dark Electro maniacs. For my personal taste a bit too downgraded compared to the original, but certainly a perfect serenade for a DJ set somewhere on a Techno event!

Well, this was an interesting experience!

Somewhere between “back to the roots” and “off to the future” I had lots of fun with this promo record! I hope that people remain open-minded and give music a chance to cover the world with sunshine as well as with dark clouds. Because both belong to our human existence on this planet. Not only in a transferred sense…

Britta Tabrit
29/04/2015


 

Next reviews
THE GROTESQUERY • The Curse of the Skinless Bride
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
JOHN LYDON • Anger Is An Energy
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
JACK HILL • Coffy
MICHAEL MANN • Heat
DEATH BY AMBORST • Salome
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
WIRE • Wire

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + TECHNO
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
BLUSH RESPONSE • Reshaper
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
ANTIGEN SHIFT • Brotherhood
KAIBUN • Illogism
SUICIDE COMMANDO, SOMAN, AESTHETIC PERFECTION, SAM, XP8, C-LEKKTOR & SURGYN • Vampireparty Live, 6/4/2013, Petrol, Antwerpen, Belgium
ANTYTHESYS • Over Dose

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
WIELORYB • Semantik

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)