tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

A LINN THING

Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

Concert
Pop 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Only seven days after the much appreciated acoustic solo set at the Rijmrock festival, Lien played at Mechelen's Maanrock festival, now with her full band: A Linn Thing. Lien sings and plays most of the keys n the band with both Tom Kestens (Lalalover) and Patrick Steenaerts (Yevgueni) on guitars, Herwig Sheck on bass and Koen Lieckens on drums. Backed by excellent musicians and armed with her own beautiful voice and songs, Lien played a strong set.

Again it was a true joy to listen to Lien's voice and those little gems of songs, now with a full band an thus with a richer overall sound. The chemistry between the musicians was perfect and the sound was formidable. It was a full band performance, but Lien also did some songs all by herself, just the voice and the keys, or for one song the acoustic guitar, with Tom Kestens on piano. So, at Maanock we got the best of both worlds.

It was still early and the bigger acts on the main stage were scheduled for later in the evening but there was a good crowd for this gig, which Lien clearly appreciated. The sing-a-long moment, when playing Your House, now with the band, was just like the previous weekend an absolute succes and worked even better, now with a larger crowd.

Lien explained that the first single Good Day is due for release somewhere in September. Of course the band then played this very catchy tune. The ideal choice for a single.

Other little jewels in the set were Day By Day, A Little Bit More, Worth It and Lift A Stone, my absolute favourite song at this moment.

The songs Lien chose to do all by herself where respectively Commitment Song, Sit Down and Feel Sorry (backed by Tom on keyboards, whilst Lien was playing the acoustic guitar).

I wouldn't want to choose between Lien Schoeters and A Linn Thing, but my reliable sources tell me that the singer will keep on doing both solo shows and gigs with A Lin Thing.

The band concluded the set with a cover of Sheryll Crow's Are You Strong Enough To Be My Man. And they did more than just cover the song, they turned it into yet another wonderful atypical A Linn Thing song that perfectly matched with the rest of the set. That's the way to do it of course. Topclass!

Setlist:
Commitment Song (solo) / Day by Day / It 'll be what it is / Keeping up / Good day / A Little bit more / Sing / Sit down (solo) / worth it / Your house / Meet at home / Lift a stone / Feel sorry (solo).

Encore :
(Are You) Strong enough (to be my man) (Sheryll Crow).

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Vorige weekend pakte Lien Schoeters nog moeiteloos Rijmrock in met een erg geapprecieerde akoestische set; zaterdag 27 augustus stond Lien op Maanrock met haar band: A Linn Thing. Lien op zang en keys, Patrick Steenaerts (Yevgueni) en Tom Kestens (Lalalover) op gitaren, Koen Lieckens op percussie en Herwig Sheck op bas. Uitstekende muzikanten dus, de sterke composities en Liens unieke en prachtige stem deden de rest. Het was weerom genieten van de popparels waarmee Lien ons ook nu volop verwende, nu met een iets stevigere omkadering.

Er was behoorlijk wat volk afgezakt naar de Mechelse Botermarkt en dat deed Lien duidelijk veel plezier. De zangeres straalde. Op een album is het nog even wachten, maar de single komt er dra aan, beloofde Lien en naturlijk zat die single ook in de sterke set. Heel aanstekelijk is Good Day dan ook.

Ik plaats eigenlijk nog het liefst uitroeptekens bij de héle set, maar om er toch een paar songs uit te lichten: Day By Day, A Little Bit More, Sit Down, dat Lien solo bracht, Worth It en Lift A Stone, op dit moment mijn absolute favoriet.

Op Rijmrock lukte de sing-a-long aardig met Your House, nog zo'n topper en met de full band op Maanrock was dat zeker een succes.

Lien breekbaar akoestisch of gesteund door de band met een iets rijker en nog warmer geluid, de songs stáán er in beide formules. Op Maanrock kregen we best of both worlds: Lien had een paar akoestische momentjes in de set gelast; setopener Commitment Song, Sit Down en Feel sorry, met Lien op de akoestische gitaar.

A Linn Thing waagde zich aan een cover. Lien koos voor Sheryll Crow's Are You Strong Enough To Be My Man. Lien en band brachten deze parel met verve; Lien had zich het lied perfect eigen gemaakt, waardoor het niet zomaar een cover was, we kregen een typische A Linn Thing-benadering, zodat de song perfect bij de andere liedjes paste. Top!

Setlist:
Commitment Song (solo) / Day by Day / It 'll be what it is / Keeping up / Good day / A Little bit more / Sing / Sit down (solo) / worth it / Your house / Meet at home / Lift a stone / Feel sorry (solo)

Encore:
(Are You) Strong enough (to be my man) (Sheryll Crow).

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn