tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

ABEL FERRARA

Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
ArthouseBiography
Filmfest Gent
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Directing the life from a controversial filmmaker by an experimental director of course doesn’t lead to a traditional biography. Anyone who except this better stay at home as otherwise you will probably belong to the huge part of the audience that gave up after 15 minutes during the screening of FilmFest Ghent.

Abel Ferrara creates a touching, but also pretentious portrait of the last days from Pier Paolo Pasolini (Willem Dafoe): the Italian artist no one could handle with. Ferrara mixes everything: for him a subject like time doesn’t exist, and dreams and reality are just one unity. So yes, this is a quite difficult movie. We can even say that it is almost impossible for those who are not familiar with Pasolini’s oeuvre, but then again you can ask yourself if others will buy a ticket for this. This is all about atmosphere with an excellent Willem Dafoe who even resembles to the Italian cinematographer. You learn nothing new about him: he was fond of boys (which was fatal for him) and wasn’t loved by Italian journalist. So all things we know about the enfant terrible.

Pasolini is not the type of movie that will make many friends. It is daring, original, bombastic, but by times a bit boring and confusing. To be short, it is a typical Abel Ferrara-film: made with lots of laughter, but in the end nobody will care about, and maybe later we will agree that it isn’t that bad after all!

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

Het leven van een controversiële filmmaker laten regisseren door een experimentele regisseur levert natuurlijk geen traditionele biografie op. Wie dat denkt blijft sowieso beter thuis, want anders zou je wel eens tot de grote hoop kunnen behoren die het reeds na een kwartiertje tijdens deze vertoning op FilmFest Ghent opgaven.

Abel Ferrara schetst op een tegelijkertijd rakende, maar tevens pretentieuze manier de laatste dagen van Pier Paolo Pasolini (Willem Dafoe): de excentrieke Italiaanse kunstenaar waarmee de media geen raad wist. Ferrara hecht geen enkel belang aan de begrippen tijd en realiteit. Alles loopt door elkaar. Toegegeven, wie niet vertrouwd is met Pasolini’s werk zal het bijzonder moeilijk hebben om deze prent te volgen, alhoewel je je ook de vraag kan stellen of andere mensen deze prent überhaupt zullen willen zien. Veel kom je trouwens over de cineast niet te weten. Hij speelde graag met jongens (wat hem uiteindelijk ook fataal is geworden) en lag overhoop met de journalisten. Maar dat wisten we al. Dafoe speelt Pasolini op treffende wijze en met zijn zonnebril die hij zelden afzet lijkt hij zelfs enorm sterk op het Italiaanse enfant terrible.

Pasolini is zeker niet het soort film dat iedereen zal bekoren. Het is gewaagd, origineel, bombastisch, maar bij momenten gewoon saai en nodeloos verwarrend. Kortom het is een Abel Ferrara-film: met veel poeha gemaakt en waar wellicht geen haan naar zal kraaien om achteraf te beseffen dat het toch allemaal niet zo slecht is.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything