tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2015 : ABRAXAS - Totem

ABRAXAS

Totem

MusicCD (EP)
Funk/SoulIndiePsychedelic

[80/100]   

Samla Music
10/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Abraxas consists of four musicians who from childhood on learned to play music together. They created their own universe and in 2007 Abraxas was born. The music contains many elements from the 70s (disco, funk), but also modern influences from pop, wave and funk. Music connoisseurs might recognize the band name from the eponymous album by Santana. In 2011 they released their first album Wart Hog (which is a concept album), and after a year of har work, they are back with this EP that contains five tracks.

Typical are the funky guitars that are complemented with electro and Motown-like rhythms. The song reminds me of Empire Of The Sun, MGMT and The Naked And The Famous. Both Deep Down In The Middle Of Shanghai and Guatemala are tracks that make your legs move or at least put a smile on your face. Democratie contains beautiful synth sounds and a punchy 70's bass. Kayak has a bit more indie influences. The percussion could be from The Doors. Death or Poussyflex is more funk and at the end is gets a bit more psychedelic.

This EP is worth your attention. A fresh and pretty original sound with some nice grooves.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2015


NL

Abraxas bestaat uit vier muzikanten die van kindsbeen af samen muziek hebben leren spelen waardoor ze hun eigen universum hebben ontwikkeld. In 2007 richtten ze Abraxas op. De muziek bevat heel wat elementen uit de 70s (disco, funk), maar tevens moderne invloeden uit pop, wave en funk. Muziekkenners herkennen wellicht de bandnaam uit het gelijknamige album van Santana. In 2011 brachten ze hun eerste album (dat tevens een conceptalbum is) Wart Hog uit, en na een jaar werken zijn ze terug met deze ep waarop vijf tracks staan.

Kenmerkend zijn de funky gitaartjes die worden aangevuld met elektro en Motown-achtige ritmes. De zang doet wat denken aan Empire Of The Sun, MGMT en The Naked And The Famous. Zowel Deep Down In The Middle of Shangai als Guatemala zijn nummers die de benen doen bewegen of die op zijn minst een glimlach op je gezicht toveren. Démocratie is een meer ingetogen nummer dat mooie synthsounds en een vette bas uit de jaren zeventig bevat. Tegen het einde van het nummer jaagt men het tempo nog wat omhoog om tot een climax te komen. Kayak heeft wat meer indie-invloeden. De percussie kon zo van The Doors zijn. Het geheel doet trouwens wat psychedelisch aan (mede door de gitaar en de zang). Death of Poussyflex is weer meer funk en op het einde komt er opnieuw een psychedelisch stukje boven drijven.

Deze ep is de moeite waard. Een frisse en behoorlijk originele sound met grooves. Leuk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2015


 

Next reviews
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I
TUSEN AR UNDER JORD • Sorgsendömet Fobos
GENERAL LEE • Knives Out Everybody!
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STAKBABBER • Polarized
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
MICHELLE MERCER • Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents

 

Same genre: FUNK/SOUL
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
CROOKED MAN • Crooked Man
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
AURRA • Body Rock
MARCUS MILLER • Het Depot, Leuven (07/04/2016)
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
PURE BEAUTY • Pure Beauty (EP)

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My