tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

20/04/2018 : ABYSS X - Pleasures Of The Bull

ABYSS X

Pleasures Of The Bull

MusicVinyl
AmbientExperimentalPost Industrial

[95/100]   

Danse Noire
20/04/2018, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Danse Noire has just released the latest work by Greek producer and multidisciplinary artist Abyss X, 'Pleasures of the Bull'. The title is a reference to an ancient Cretan myth concerning the Minotaur and yes, there's a certain element of old mysteries and forbidden rituals here, aided by the seamless intermixing of electronic and acoustic elements, and the weird structure of both the album and the songs themselves.

Abyss X released her previous albums on mostly experimental electronic labels (Halcyon Veil, Infinite Machine, Extasis) and this new one is on Aïsha Devi's Danse Noire, which feels like a very natural match. As I said before, the music blends elements of experimental electronics and post-industrial (loads of sampling and strange beats) with acoustic and live instrumentation, mostly strings, some bass here and there, a traditional Cretan lyra, and most notably her vocals.

She's actually an outstanding and very complete vocalist, going from alien witch (Critical Path) to 80s popstar (Lyrical Waxing) in just two songs. This last track is worth mentioning because even though it includes some gorgeous vocal melodies over guitars and ocean wave samples (in that sense it reminds me of Cocteau Twins' Eperdu from 'Milk & Kisses') it feels completely natural as a part of this six-chapter-book of an album. The vocals are also a bit reminiscent of mid-80s Kate Bush, and indeed the entire album, with its smooth combination of strange experimentation and organic emotion, can perfectly sit side by side with 'The Dreaming' and especially the second half of 'Hounds of Love'.

This is an immersive experience, a beautiful, atmospheric, and sometimes truly uncomfortable little gem.

Available on vinyl and as a digital release. Extremely recommended.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
20/04/2018


20/04/2018 : ABYSS X - Pleasures Of The Bull 20/04/2018 : ABYSS X - Pleasures Of The Bull

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace