tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz

AD:KEY

Resonanz

MusicCD
EBMElectro

[74/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
18/11/2020, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Berlin duo AD: KEY hits us with the sixth full studio album Resonanz. The basis remains a festive celebration of Electronic Body Music with explosive bass lines, hammering beats, catchy synth melodies and powerful combinations of male and female vocals in both German and English.

They continue building on and exploring on the characteristic sound that they have developed in recent years. Release after release, the duo Andrea and Rene Nowotny secured their place in the electro scene. Their musical spectrum contains also ingredients of minimal (analog) synth melodies that regularly receive hi-energy sequences as an extra. Still they remain true to their individuality, with the alternating male and female vocals.

The first edition of this album is available as a limited double CD deluxe Digi-pack containing a disc with 12 bonus tracks including alternate versions created by AD: KEY itself, plus also impressive and unexpected energetic collaborations with Schramm, Steril, Armageddon Dildos and Rossi BM.

In any case, it is varied. From songs with a more minimalistic slant such as ‘This Is Not The Time’ or ‘Schlachtfeld Der Liebe’, to rock solid old school EBM stompers of the highest level, such as ‘Herz Lass Los’ or ‘Ich Will Dass Du Jetzt Gehst’.

‘Du Und Ich’ is again a more poppy sounding synth-pop song with lots of potential. Also ’Alles Was Ich Will’ fits this style, even if the pace slows down a bit here. ‘I Can’t Feel You’ throws one back to the synthy sounds of the 1980s.

The duo clearly shows that they have this electronic genre in their blood and fully support it. The album is varied in terms of styles, technically very nicely put together, but compared to the previous one I do miss the more solid, straightforward feeling. Despite the fact that it sounds musically wider, I feel it doesn’t stick as much as their previous work.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2020


NL

Het Berlijnse duo AD:KEY slaat ons om de oren met hun zesde volledige studioalbum Resonanz. De basis blijft een feestelijke viering van de Electronic Body Music met explosieve baslijnen, hamerende beats, pakkende synthmelodieën en krachtige combinaties van mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocalen zowel in het Duits als in het Engels.

Ze bouwen verder op de karakteristieke sound die de afgelopen jaren, release na release, het duo Andrea en Rene Nowotny hun plaats in de electro-scène liet veroveren. De rest van het muzikale spectrum wordt ingenomen door minimale analoge synthmelodieën met regelmatig hi-energy sequences als extraatje. Ze blijven trouw aan hun eigenheid, met de afwisselende mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocalen.

De eerste editie van dit album is verkrijgbaar als een gelimiteerde dubbel-CD deluxe digipak met 12 bonustracks: alternatieve versies gemaakt door AD:KEY zelf, plus indrukwekkende en onverwacht energieke samenwerkingen met Schramm, Steril, Armageddon Dildos en Rossi BM.

Gevarieerd is het in alle geval. Van songs met een eerder minimalistische inslag zoals This Is Not The Time of Schlachtfeld Der Liebe, tot oerdegelijke old school EBM-stompers van het hoogste niveau zoals Herz Lass Los of Ich Will Dass Du Jetzt Gehst.

Du Und Ich is dan weer een meer poppy klinkende synthpop-song met wel heel veel potentieel. Alles Was Ich Will sluit daar qua stijl naadloos bij aan, al gaat het tempo even een versnellinge lager. I Can’t Feel You dompelt je onder in de synthsounds van de jaren ’80 van het vorige millennium.

Het duo laat duidelijk merken dat ze het electronische genre in het bloed hebben en een warm hart toedragen. Het is gevarieerd qua stijlen, technisch zit het heel mooi in elkaar, maar in vergelijking met voorgaande albums mis ik het meer stevige, rechttoe rechtaan gevoel. Het is niet zo beklijvens, ook al is het muzikaal breder.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2020


18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz 18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz

 

Next reviews
SWANS • Children Of GodFeel Good Now
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • All Thoughts Fly Sweden
FATAL CASUALTIES • Lullaby for Helsinki
JESU • When I Was Small
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening

 

Other reviews from AD:KEY
AD:KEY • I can't feel you

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht

 

Same genre: EBM
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back