tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz

AD:KEY

Resonanz

MusicCD
EBMElectro

[74/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
18/11/2020, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Berlin duo AD: KEY hits us with the sixth full studio album Resonanz. The basis remains a festive celebration of Electronic Body Music with explosive bass lines, hammering beats, catchy synth melodies and powerful combinations of male and female vocals in both German and English.

They continue building on and exploring on the characteristic sound that they have developed in recent years. Release after release, the duo Andrea and Rene Nowotny secured their place in the electro scene. Their musical spectrum contains also ingredients of minimal (analog) synth melodies that regularly receive hi-energy sequences as an extra. Still they remain true to their individuality, with the alternating male and female vocals.

The first edition of this album is available as a limited double CD deluxe Digi-pack containing a disc with 12 bonus tracks including alternate versions created by AD: KEY itself, plus also impressive and unexpected energetic collaborations with Schramm, Steril, Armageddon Dildos and Rossi BM.

In any case, it is varied. From songs with a more minimalistic slant such as ‘This Is Not The Time’ or ‘Schlachtfeld Der Liebe’, to rock solid old school EBM stompers of the highest level, such as ‘Herz Lass Los’ or ‘Ich Will Dass Du Jetzt Gehst’.

‘Du Und Ich’ is again a more poppy sounding synth-pop song with lots of potential. Also ’Alles Was Ich Will’ fits this style, even if the pace slows down a bit here. ‘I Can’t Feel You’ throws one back to the synthy sounds of the 1980s.

The duo clearly shows that they have this electronic genre in their blood and fully support it. The album is varied in terms of styles, technically very nicely put together, but compared to the previous one I do miss the more solid, straightforward feeling. Despite the fact that it sounds musically wider, I feel it doesn’t stick as much as their previous work.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2020


NL

Het Berlijnse duo AD:KEY slaat ons om de oren met hun zesde volledige studioalbum Resonanz. De basis blijft een feestelijke viering van de Electronic Body Music met explosieve baslijnen, hamerende beats, pakkende synthmelodieën en krachtige combinaties van mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocalen zowel in het Duits als in het Engels.

Ze bouwen verder op de karakteristieke sound die de afgelopen jaren, release na release, het duo Andrea en Rene Nowotny hun plaats in de electro-scène liet veroveren. De rest van het muzikale spectrum wordt ingenomen door minimale analoge synthmelodieën met regelmatig hi-energy sequences als extraatje. Ze blijven trouw aan hun eigenheid, met de afwisselende mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocalen.

De eerste editie van dit album is verkrijgbaar als een gelimiteerde dubbel-CD deluxe digipak met 12 bonustracks: alternatieve versies gemaakt door AD:KEY zelf, plus indrukwekkende en onverwacht energieke samenwerkingen met Schramm, Steril, Armageddon Dildos en Rossi BM.

Gevarieerd is het in alle geval. Van songs met een eerder minimalistische inslag zoals This Is Not The Time of Schlachtfeld Der Liebe, tot oerdegelijke old school EBM-stompers van het hoogste niveau zoals Herz Lass Los of Ich Will Dass Du Jetzt Gehst.

Du Und Ich is dan weer een meer poppy klinkende synthpop-song met wel heel veel potentieel. Alles Was Ich Will sluit daar qua stijl naadloos bij aan, al gaat het tempo even een versnellinge lager. I Can’t Feel You dompelt je onder in de synthsounds van de jaren ’80 van het vorige millennium.

Het duo laat duidelijk merken dat ze het electronische genre in het bloed hebben en een warm hart toedragen. Het is gevarieerd qua stijlen, technisch zit het heel mooi in elkaar, maar in vergelijking met voorgaande albums mis ik het meer stevige, rechttoe rechtaan gevoel. Het is niet zo beklijvens, ook al is het muzikaal breder.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2020


18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz 18/11/2020 : AD:KEY - Resonanz

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn