tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

ADORATION DESTROYED

Ritual Damage

MusicCD
Dark PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synthpop

[74/100]   

Cleopatra Records
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Ritual Damage, the debut album by the Austin band Adoration Destroyed has been released on Cleopatra Records.We hear frontman Erik Gustafson (who is also a member of 16 Volt and NOIR) on synths and vocals and a live band that consists of Eirik Ashe on drums and Jon Gilyeat on bass. The band has a sound with electro influences from the 80s, dark pop with a refined nod to IDM.

Here To Bleed opens the album: complaining vocals give it a rather dark side, perfectly danceable though.

On Torn Apart, the bass is dominant. The drums sound rougher and it rocks, although the EBM influence is still prominent. The same ingredients of the first two songs are in many following tracks. Not that it is monotonous, not at all. We hear a full range of styles: from spacy sounding synth parts to hard ones. Sometimes you hear guitar riffs throughout the whole song such as in Never Mine, sometimes synth and future pop as in Coma White. On Nothing Left the band is assisted by Cynical Existence.

Erik's lingering vocals remain identical throughout most tracks. Both Of Me sounds more like EBM and later like IDM and shows again the splash of diversity on this album. The vocals are even distorted in this song. Damage Ritual is an instrumental piece, minimalist, with a noisy undertone.

As a bonus, we hear two remixes: Here To Bleed (16 Volt remix) and to Elegant Decay (Mr. Kitty Remix).

We heard worse debut albums. Adoration Destroyed made good record, nothing more. It is done well, and the rocking sound - although IDM - is fun and the bass adds an enjoyable spin to the tracks.

Tracklist:
1. Here To Bleed
2. Torn Apart
3. Voices Carry
4. Carnal Dirge
5. Never Mine
6. Last
7. Coma White
8. Nothing Left
9. In Elegant Decay
10. Both Of Me
11. Ritual Damage
12. Here To Bleed (16 Volt Remix)
13. In Elegant Decay (Mr.Kitty Remix)

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

Ritual Damage is het op Cleopatra Records verschenen debuutalbum van Adoration Destroyed. De band uit Austin, met frontman Erik Gustafson (ook lid van 16 Volt, NOIR) op synths en zang en een live band die bestaat uit Eirik Ashe op drums en Jon Gilyeat op bas. De band zet een sound neer met flarden elektro uit de vroegere jaren 80, darkpop met een verfijnde knipoog naar IDM.

Here To Bleed opent deze eersteling van de band. Meeslepende elektro, klagende en jammerende vocalen geven het geheel een vrij duister kantje, hoewel perfect dansbaar.

De basgitaar scheurt op verschroeiende wijze door de tweede song Torn Apart. De drumpartijen klinken ruwer en het geheel rockt, hoewel de EBM-invloed nog heel duidelijk hoorbaar is. De ingrediënten die we in de eerste twee songs hoorden, blijven behouden in heel wat tracks. Niét dat het eentonig wordt, totaal niet. We krijgen het volledige arsenaal aan stijlen op het bord: van spacy klinkende synthpartijen tot rockend hard. Soms hoor je meeslepende gitaarpartijen die het geheel doorkruisen zoals in Never Mine, dan weer synth- en futurepop in Coma White. En de band slaat ook de handen ineen met al gevestigde waarden. In Nothing Left komt Cynical Existence meedoen.

De slepende vocalen van Erik blijven gelijkluidend doorheen de meeste tracks. Both Of Me klinkt dan weer iets meer EBM dan IDM en toont weer een sprankel van de diversiteit in dit album. De zangpartij wordt zelfs door de distortie-molen gehaald in deze song. Ritual Damage is een instrumentaal stukje, minimalistisch, met zelf een wat noisyere ondertoon.

Als toemaatje horen we twee remixes: Here To Bleed (16 Volt remix) en In Elegant Decay (Mr. Kitty Remix).

In globo: we hoorden al slechtere debuutalbums. Adoration Destroyed levert een goede plaat, maar daarmee is ook alles gezegd. Het zit technisch en qua klankpalet wel goed in elkaar, maar het springt er niet uit. In zijn genre dik OK. De rockende sound - hoewel IDM - is leuk en de baspartijen geven her en der een deugddoende draai aan de tracks.

Tracklist:
1. Here To Bleed
2. Torn Apart
3. Voices Carry
4. Carnal Dirge
5. Never Mine
6. Last
7. Coma White
8. Nothing Left
9. In Elegant Decay
10. Both Of Me
11. Ritual Damage
12. Here To Bleed (16 Volt Remix)
13. In Elegant Decay (Mr.Kitty Remix)

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage 11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage 11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

 

Next reviews
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland

 

Other reviews from ADORATION DESTROYED
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back