tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1

AFTER ABSENCE

Demotape 1

MusicDigital
Cold WaveDarkwave

[73/100]   
21/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

After Absence is an Italian-French coldwave duo with their home base in the city of light, Paris. They have released a first demo tape that is available via download. There we find 5 tracks.

A varied bouquet of cutting bass lines, self-challenging synths and female vocals. A mix of coldwave, darkwave, hints of shoegaze and minimal synth... and all that in 5 songs!

"Collide" is a robust opener that makes a quiet entry where the melancholy drips from it like sticky syrup. It turns out to be a danceable coldwave song. "Bakelite" connects seamlessly with this. The voice is not always tonal but that is something that we see with several bands in the genre and that does not detract from the power of the songs. "Daleth" is my favourite of this nice entrance from After Absence. Minimal with a coldwave edge, sharp, perstistant rhythm sections that go on endlessly and a pretty poppy, cutting voice in your ear. This is a song that you are content to let play on, regardless of the fact that it lasts more than 5 minutes.

With "Postmodern Prometheus" and "Fender Bender" we get two good coldwave songs.

The duo hands out a business card and sets foot on the coldwave island. Not immediately reaching the highest tops but it is clear that they have listened well to the grandmasters of the genre. This demo is a nice step up and with some maturation this will yield good wine, although tapped from older barrels.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/07/2018


NL

After Absence is een Italiaans-Frans coldwave-duo met als homebase de lichtstad Parijs. Ze releasten een eerste demotape die via donwload verkrijgbaar is. Daarop vinden we 5 tracks.

Een gevarieerd boeket van snedige baslijnen, zichzelf uitdagende synths en vrouwelijke vocalen. Een mix van coldwave, darkwave, vleugjes shoegaze en minimal synth.. en dat in 5 songs!

Collide is een robuuste opener die rustig intrede doet waarbij de melancholie er als kleverige stroop vanaf druipt. Het ontpopt zich tot een dansbare coldwave song. Bakelite sluit hier naadloos op aan. Het stemgeluid is niet steeds even toonvast, maar dat merken we wel bij meerdere bands in het genre, en het doet in deze totaal géén afbreuk van de kracht van de songs. Daleth is mijn favoriet van deze aardige binnekomer van After Absence. Minimal met een coldwave-randje, snedig vasthoudende ritmesecties die eindeloos doorgaan en een al bij al vrij poppy in het gehoor snijdende stem. Dit is een song die, ook al duurt hij ruim vijf minuten, mag blijven verder gaan.

Met Postmodern Prometheus en Fender Bender krijgen we nog twee goede coldwave-songs.

Het duo geeft bij deze een visitekaartje af en zet voet aan wal op coldwave-island. Nog niet meteen de hoogste toppen scherend, maar het is duidelijk dat ze de grootmeesters in het genre wel goéd beluisterd hebben. Deze demo is een mooie opstap en middels nog wat rijping zal dit goede wijn opleveren, hoewel getapt uit oudere vaten.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/07/2018


21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1 21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back