tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

AHAB

THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

MusicCD
Doom Metalsludge

[85/100]   

Napalm Records
01/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

AHAB is a German doom/sludge metalband that exist for more than a decade. What I like is the difference between the intro of their songs, which are rather acoustic, and the doomy middle parts. This contrast give the songs a wider palet than most doom metal music.

This is their fourth album, and maybe their best. It’s melodic and the vocals by Daniel Droste have a wide range: from grunting to pure clean vocals. The bonus track The Light in the Weed only has clean vocals. Red Foam (The Great Storm) is their fastest and shortest song and contains some nice riffs, while The Weedmen is their slowest and longest track, and also the most doomy song on the album. The opener ‘The Isle’ impresses me because of the contrasting styles and the nice melodies.

We can say they went for the extremes in music, but it is a varied album with no weak moments. The lyrics are inspired by William Hope Hodgson’ s novel The Boats of Glen Carrig. Six songs and more than an hour of music. When you buy the special edition, you get an 7" inch with an ‘Alan Parson Project’ cover (The Turn of a Friendly Card).

For lovers of doom and prog metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/09/2015


NL

AHAB is een Duitse doom/sludge metalband die al tien jaar bestaat. Vooral de combinatie van atmosferische en akoestische intro's die overgaan in doom, zijn elementen waar ik van hou, gewoon omdat dit contrast de songs een wijder en breder palet geeft dan de muziek van de doorsnee doomband.

Dit is hun vierde fullalbum en wat mij betreft hun beste. De plaat is melodisch en Daniel Droste zingt op veel verschillende manieren: van grunts tot gewone zangstem, zoals bijv. in de bonustrack 'The Light in the Weed’. ‘Red Foam (The Great Storm)’ is hun snelste en kortste song en bevat enkele mooie riffs. ‘The Weedmen’ is dan weer hun traagste en langste, alsook het meest doomy nummer. Het openingsnummer ‘The Isle’ maakt indruk door de grote contrasten en de mooie melodieën.

We kunnen zeggen dat ze de meest extreme kanten hebben opgezocht, alhoewel het een aangenaam en varierend album zonder zwakke momenten is. De teksten zijn geïnspireerd door het boek ‘The Boats of the Glen Carrig’ van William Hope Hodgson. Zes nummers en meer dan zestig minuten muziek. Wie zich de special edition aanschaft, krijgt er een 7" inch bij met daarop een cover (The Turn of a Friendly Card) van The Alan Parson Project.

Een plaat die ik zeker zou aanraden aan de liefhebbers van doom en progmetal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/09/2015


01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG 01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)
12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth