tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/07/2014 : ALESTORM - Sunset on the Golden Age

ALESTORM

Sunset on the Golden Age

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalHeavy MetalPost Punk

[90/100]   

Napalm Records
29/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Trumpets announces the start and I get a feeling of some Janez Dedt, but once the guitars, drums and the vocals jump in hell breaks out! 'Walk The Plank' has started a riot! At this point I like the promotional intro: 'Captain Christopher Bowes and his crazy crew are sailing through

`Bacon Powered Pirate Core´ with sleek keyboard riffs influenced by Folk Metal and classical Power Metal. The winner of the `Best New Pirate Metal Band-Grammy Award has again completed a brilliant performance in the studio and presents us a skillful follow-up to their third studio album with this new masterpiece. Cast off and Ship Ahoy!'

The razorsharp voice seems to be his trademark, just as the Irish accent and the punk/rebel attitude! It's true: the opening track has no happy lyrics, but somehow they turn a gray day into a sunny day! I enjoy the powerful backings and the synths mixed with the metal minded guitars! 'Drink' is what I call a 'Drunken Pirate Metal Party Anthem'! It reminds me a bit of 'Party on' (Funeral Dress) and 'As the Bottle runs dry' (The Wolfbanes). 'Magnetic North' has also party attributes and a slight flavor from the medieval times. The grunting and Irish Folk metal blends in perfectly!

'1741 (The Battle of Cartagena)' starts with a video game sound from the 80's and contains a great story telling once their own sound explodes into a powerful metal play! 'Mead from Hell' has a nice accordeon in it, fired up by enough alcohol! I feel the live vibe on this one very strongly and see a sea of human bodies rolling one over the other one until they reach the front stage! A real explosive track! 'Surf Squid Warfare' talks about a legendary fight and brings it to life, as if we are really taking part of it and that takes a lot of good crafting in the studio! 'Quest for ships' sounds like another party trip! Punk, folk and metal: all in one track! 'Wooden leg' has a great Irish Punk attitude. Once again the backings give it that extra push in the back that a great track needs to become an even greater track! I love the party vibe and it sounds to me as a must be on the track list of a concert! Once again the accordeon has a right place and adds that extra good sound needed to make it a great one! 'Hangover' (Taio Cruz Cover)

starts with an acoustic guitar and a great bass guitar. I feel that this one could have been a great last track or at least might be a great end of a gig! Just listen to the lyrics and feel the live vibe and lived through vocals! A fine jewel, perfectly crafted! It also sounds like a sing-a-long track and the more I listen to it, the more I adore it! Just perfect!

The title track closes this jewel with its epic sound and duration of 11:25! It contains every side-step and every direction taken on the previous songs, build up to come to one last explosive end before the final curtain close the show! It's a nice story to end with!

Alestorm proves that there is more around in the metalscene than just "metal" and build a great party! I hope to see them one day, in Belgium...

Both thumbs up!

Check the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5P5Tz3VH94&feature=youtu.be

Filip VAN MUYLEM
29/07/2014


 

Next reviews
KALTHERZIG • Songs Made Of Solitude And Pain
TOUCHING THE VOID • Obsession EP
K-BEREIT • A Forest EP
JOHN FORD • The grapes of wrath
CONTROLSTATE • The Delta Pack
JOHN HUGHES • Uncle Buck
NULLVEKTOR • Marathonmann
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
GAME OVER • Burts Into The Quiet
E-CRAFT • Re-Arrested

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

Music reviews

23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
16
07
Today, Blutengel released their brand-new Album 'Erlösung - The Victory of Light'
15
07
40 years of Party Mix! by The B52's

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My
21
07
NITZER EBB
Control I’m Here
20
07
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
19
07
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
18
07
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
17
07
WARDRUNA
Kauna (Live at Incubate 2009)