tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising

ALIASING

Spell Rising

MusicCD
Horror Punk

[60/100]   

loglady reocrds
29/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Horror punk and glam rock from Madrid. The beautiful cover artwork attracts the attention with some nods to famous horror films.

Everything here is a bit over the top. The album feels in many ways like a parody (a bit like Scary Movie is for films). Musically they are dedicated in bringing lots of rock clichés together. Listen to Rock Under The Moonlight and you'll understand what I mean. The songs are well constructed and vibrant, and the guitars are in fine combination with the keys. Sadly for them, the vocals can not always convince me. When Cesar Monzon sings in a normal way, it is not bad, but when it sounds forced, then I quit.

The album has some good moments (Scream Queens and Photophobia And Lipstickphillia), but it is too light to speak of a success. Parodies and humor in music are always a tricky balance between good and bad. Unfortunately, they are on the wrong side of the line too often.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/09/2015


NL

Horrorpunk/-rock en glamrock uit Madrid. De mooie cover en het artwork trekken de aandacht en bevatten enkele knipoogjes naar bekende horrorfilms.

Alles is wat over the top; zo zijn de teksten van Creepy Heart tenenkrommend. Het album voelt op verschillende manieren aan als een parodie (een beetje zoals Scary Movie dat op filmterrein was). Muzikaal brengen ze, met volle overgave, een hoop rockclichés bijeen. Luister maar eens naar Rock Under The Moonlight en je zal wel begrijpen wat ik bedoel. De songs zitten goed in elkaar, zijn levendig en de gitaren combineren goed met de keys. De zang is niet altijd mijn ding. Alsr César Monzon normaal zingt, valt het nog best mee, maar als hij geforceerd klinkt, dan haak ik af.

Het album bevat enkele goede momenten ( o.a. Scream Queens en Photophobia and Lipstickphillia), maar is te licht om van een succes over de gehele lijn te kunnen spreken. Parodieën en humor in muziek verwerken is steeds balanceren tussen een goed en slecht resultaat. Jammer genoeg zitten ze veelvuldig langs de verkeerde kant van die lijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/09/2015


29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising 29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour