tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records

ALLAN MOYLE

Empire Records

MovieCult movies
Comedy

[62/100]   

Warner Home Video
16/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

I had my doubts whether I would classify Empire Records as a classic or a cult movie. But you know, a classic automatically refers to something good and with cult you can go in any direction, as in all honesty: this movie isn’t good, you can even say it’s rather bad!

Yeah I know. I should have seen it by the cover, but because Empire Records is often cited as the equal from the magnificent High Fidelity I thought I’d give it a go. The only thing these Empire-people have in common with the guys from the Stephen Frears-movie is that they look down on those who know nothing about some records. For the rest, we never hope to enter Empire Records! The shop is a small one, but there’s a huge danger of the competitors. A big chain wants to buy Empire Records.

On paper this comedy by Allan Moyle (the man who made the classic Times Square and that other music hit Pump Up The Volume) seems nice, but the mediocre performances destroy all the magic. The soundtrack is a nice choice from Gwar, The The, The Cranberries, The Flying Lizards and even Daniel Johnston. That’s indeed the most positive thing you can say about it. That, and the fact that Renée Zellweger never looked so horny as here. But for the rest, up to the next store!

Didier BECU
16/08/2014


NL

Het was eventjes twijfelen of ik Empire Records als klassieker of cultfilm zou onderverdelen. Maar goed, een klassieker impliceert iets goed, terwijl je met cult alle richtingen uit kan. Want tja, deze komedie is eigenlijk zeer matig (om niet te zeggen slecht).

Wist ik dat dan niet? Hmmm, het hoesje spreekt wel boekdelen maar omdat deze prent vaak wordt aangeprezen als de evenknie van (de geniale!) High Fidelity besloot ik hem toch een kans te geven. Het enige wat de verkopers met de winkel uit de film van Stephen Frears gemeen hebben is dat het allemaal arrogante kwallen zijn die neerkijken op klanten als ze iets niet weten van een bepaalde plaat. Voor de rest hopen we er geen voetstap binnen te zetten. Empire Records is zo’n kleine platenboer waar de muziek primeert op de verkoopcijfers. De concurrentie loert en de winkel dreigt te worden opgekocht door een grote keten.

Op papier klinkt deze komedie van Allan Moyle (man van de klassieker Times Square en die andere muziekhit Pump Up The Volume) best leuk, maar de debiele vertolkingen maken alles om zeep. De muziekkeuze is een bonte mengeling van Gwar, The The, The Cranberries, The Flying Lizards en zelfs Daniel Johnston. Dat is eigenlijk het enige pluspunt en ook dat Renée Zellweger er nooit zo geil uitzag als hier, maar voor de rest: naar de volgende winkel!

Empire Records is nog vlot verkrijgbaar op dvd via Warner.

Didier BECU
16/08/2014


16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records 16/08/2014 : ALLAN MOYLE - Empire Records

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn