tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

AMBER ARCADES

Fading Lines

MusicCD
DreampopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesIndie Rock

[70/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

After two EPs (Amber Arcades, 2013; Patiently, 2015), Amber Arcades (moniker of the Dutch Annelotte de Graaf) releases the debut album Fading Lines: a collection of 10 songs that we situate between indie rock and dreampop. De Graaf's melodic and slightly husky voice, combined with whining guitars and a lot of echo, results in an album with beautiful pop songs that will please teenage girls and romantic souls. It all sounds great, melodic and dreamy, and it is also well made.

We draw your attention to Perpetuum Mobile because it sounds different than the rest of the material (without whining guitars), with a strong and attractive melody, and to Aphophenia because of the stunning slide guitar of Meg Duffy, while the panting percussion and the trembling guitars in Turning Light convince us as well, and even the final track White Fuzz: simple, yet wonderful lyrics with atmospheric noise in the background.

Right Now and This Time are good sounding indie pop songs, and after a second and third listening,
even I Will Follow continues to float through our heads.

Lovers of dream pop can buy this album with eyes closed.

Tracklist:
1 Come With Me
2 Constant’s Dream
3 Fading Lines
4 I Will Follow
5 Perpetuum Mobile
6 Right Now
7 Apophenia
8 This Time
9 Turning Light
10 White Fuzz

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Na twee ep’s (Amber Arcades, 2013; Patiently, 2015), brengt Amber Arcades (pseudoniem voor de Utrechtse Annelotte de Graaf) het debuutalbum Fading Lines uit, een verzameling van 10 liedjes die we situeren tussen indierock en dreampop. De Graafs melodieuze en lichtjes omfloerste stem, gecombineerd met jengelende gitaren en flink wat echo, resulteert in een album met fraaie popsongs waarmee vooral tienermeisjes en romantische zielen zich zullen kunnen affirmeren. Het klinkt allemaal uitstekend, melodieus en dromerig en het is bovendien goed gemaakt.

We pikken er Perpetuum Mobile uit omdat het anders klinkt dan de rest van het materiaal (zonder jengelende gitaren), met een sterke en aantrekkelijke melodie, en Aphophenia wegens de prachtige slidegitaar van Meg Duffy, terwijl de hijgende percussie en de bibberende gitaren in Turning Light ons ook kunnen overtuigen, evenals de eindtrack White Fuzz: een eenvoudig en toch wondermooi liedje met atmosferisch geruis op de achtergrond.

Right Now en This Time zijn op hun beurt goed klinkende indiepopsongs en na een tweede en derde beluisering blijft ook I Will Follow langer dan nodig in ons hoofd hangen.

Liefhebbers van dreampop hoeven in elk geval niet te twijfelen.

Tracklist:
1 Come With Me
2 Constant’s Dream
3 Fading Lines
4 I Will Follow
5 Perpetuum Mobile
6 Right Now
7 Apophenia
8 This Time
9 Turning Light
10 White Fuzz

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines 10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

 

Next reviews
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
INVOKE THE INSULT • You Can Trust
SPOOKYLAND • Beauty Already Beautiful
FEWS • Means
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
NERVOSA • Agony
SPARK! • Maskiner
DEAD RABBITS • The Ticket That Exploded

 

Other reviews from AMBER ARCADES
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace