tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

10/10/2019 : AMY STUDT - Happiest Girl in The Universe

AMY STUDT

Happiest Girl in The Universe

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Dark PopIndieLo-fiSinger Songwriter

[100/100]   

Rough Trade
10/10/2019, Ash MCAULIFFE

"I don't wanna die before I learn to live my life, unrehearsed

Wanna live my life like the happiest girl in the universe."

It has been 16 years since Amy Studt released her first album “False Smiles.” 260,000 copies sold, a string of hit singles, followed by the powerfully mature (and underrated) second record “My Paper Made Men” in 2008. Which begs the question. How does a former major-label pop star metamorphosis into a chanteuse of dark, introspected chamber-gloom? Easy. She lives her life and ploughs all of that life experience into the creation of a magnum opus!

For many music fans like myself, introspection can be incredibly lonely. For those intensely in tune with their emotions and feelings, music usually plays a massive part in their lives. So, it’s with a huge debt of gratitude that we have the release of records like this one that can serve as a channel and a positive outlet for those dealing with their own inner worlds.

It has been a long time coming but “Happiest Girl In The Universe” was surely worth the wait. Its power is in its intimacy. It’s a spinetingling “narrative diary of depression, hope and redemption.” The atmosphere can often feel quite claustrophobic but what Amy is actually doing is pulling you closer to her to give you a one-on-one experiential ride with this record. It’s a window into the very soul of Amy Studt. They say music is therapeutic and this album is proof. Every single cell has been expunged and bled into this album. The catharsis that comes when we reach the title track and realise that even in the darkest of times hope is still there is exhilarating.

Yet the record is also an exorcism of sorts. Album highlights like "Overdose", "The Water" and "Let The Music Play" allow years of turmoil to be purged and unleashed, giving rise to the most incredibly heartfelt yet shackle-breaking record of recent memory. This is an artist revitalised and completely reborn. It’s a beautiful album all the same and full of wonderful melodies and hooks. "I Was Jesus In Your Veins" is a classic alternative pop song without a shadow of a doubt and I defy anybody to resist that chorus! It's an album with a unique type of darkness that is intoxicating but not overbearing. It is an arresting album vocally with an understated urgency. The haunted hushed lulling adding to the overall complexity of the albums subject matter. An immensely talented songwriter and musician, Studt composed all tracks on the record. The importance of an empirical record, once again, cannot be denied! It’s a record with a manifesto to inspire and leave its imprint on the very heart of the listener.

A highlight of 2019. No doubt about it.

Release Date - 4th October 2019

Ash MCAULIFFE
10/10/2019


 

Next reviews
NUMB • Mortal Geometry
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
FOXY • X-Ray Spex Tribute
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Hellraiser
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
LES NEGRESSES VERTES • Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: LO-FI
STACIAN • Person L
XOSAR • Xymeria
LUXVID • Trench
SUBHEIM • Foray
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
THE MEN • New Moon
MONGOLITO • Acedia
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012
GERARD HERMAN • Fêta Justice

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight