tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

10/10/2019 : AMY STUDT - Happiest Girl in The Universe

AMY STUDT

Happiest Girl in The Universe

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Dark PopIndieLo-fiSinger Songwriter

[100/100]   

Rough Trade
10/10/2019, Ash MCAULIFFE

"I don't wanna die before I learn to live my life, unrehearsed

Wanna live my life like the happiest girl in the universe."

It has been 16 years since Amy Studt released her first album “False Smiles.” 260,000 copies sold, a string of hit singles, followed by the powerfully mature (and underrated) second record “My Paper Made Men” in 2008. Which begs the question. How does a former major-label pop star metamorphosis into a chanteuse of dark, introspected chamber-gloom? Easy. She lives her life and ploughs all of that life experience into the creation of a magnum opus!

For many music fans like myself, introspection can be incredibly lonely. For those intensely in tune with their emotions and feelings, music usually plays a massive part in their lives. So, it’s with a huge debt of gratitude that we have the release of records like this one that can serve as a channel and a positive outlet for those dealing with their own inner worlds.

It has been a long time coming but “Happiest Girl In The Universe” was surely worth the wait. Its power is in its intimacy. It’s a spinetingling “narrative diary of depression, hope and redemption.” The atmosphere can often feel quite claustrophobic but what Amy is actually doing is pulling you closer to her to give you a one-on-one experiential ride with this record. It’s a window into the very soul of Amy Studt. They say music is therapeutic and this album is proof. Every single cell has been expunged and bled into this album. The catharsis that comes when we reach the title track and realise that even in the darkest of times hope is still there is exhilarating.

Yet the record is also an exorcism of sorts. Album highlights like "Overdose", "The Water" and "Let The Music Play" allow years of turmoil to be purged and unleashed, giving rise to the most incredibly heartfelt yet shackle-breaking record of recent memory. This is an artist revitalised and completely reborn. It’s a beautiful album all the same and full of wonderful melodies and hooks. "I Was Jesus In Your Veins" is a classic alternative pop song without a shadow of a doubt and I defy anybody to resist that chorus! It's an album with a unique type of darkness that is intoxicating but not overbearing. It is an arresting album vocally with an understated urgency. The haunted hushed lulling adding to the overall complexity of the albums subject matter. An immensely talented songwriter and musician, Studt composed all tracks on the record. The importance of an empirical record, once again, cannot be denied! It’s a record with a manifesto to inspire and leave its imprint on the very heart of the listener.

A highlight of 2019. No doubt about it.

Release Date - 4th October 2019

Ash MCAULIFFE
10/10/2019


 

Next reviews
NUMB • Mortal Geometry
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
FOXY • X-Ray Spex Tribute
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Hellraiser
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
LES NEGRESSES VERTES • Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: LO-FI
STACIAN • Person L
XOSAR • Xymeria
LUXVID • Trench
SUBHEIM • Foray
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
THE MEN • New Moon
MONGOLITO • Acedia
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012
GERARD HERMAN • Fêta Justice

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
08
AMMO
Rose + Crown
05
08
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us