tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost

ANDREA DI STEFANO

Escobar: Paradise Lost

Movie
Crime

[65/100]   

Universal Pictures
20/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It was actually written in the stars that Benicio del Toro would one day play the role of the Colombian drug lord Pablo Escobar. It is very sad though that this is in Escobar: Paradise Lost, a mediocre film with superb performances.

Unfortunately director Di Stefano didn’t want to make a biography, but he was satisfied with a trashy story in which Pablo Escobar almost disappears in the background, and that is very sad, especially when you know this could have been another Scarface.

Actually, this story is not about Escobar, but about the Canadian surfer Nick (Josh Hutcherson, yeah, the guy of The Hunger Games), who travels to Columbia and falls in love with Maria (Claudia Traisac), Escobar’s niece. And yes, the fairytale marriage becomes a nightmare once the true nature of Escobar rises above.

Benicio del Toro does everything to make the best of it, and he manages to do so, but the rest of the cast is simply too light to let this movie rise above the average. What follows is nothing more than "what could have been if..."

Didier BECU
20/09/2015


NL

Het stond eigenlijk in de sterren geschreven dat Benicio del Toro ooit eens de rol van de machtige Columbiaanse drugsbaron Pablo Escobar zou vertolken. Het is wel bijzonder jammer dat dit in Escobar: Paradise Lost is, een matige film met sublieme vertolkingen.

Regisseur Di Stefano had jammer genoeg geen zin in het maken van een biografie, maar was tevreden met een flutverhaaltje waardoor Pablo Escobar bijna volledig op de achtergrond terechtkomt, en dat is toch bijzonder triest, zeker als je weet dat hier eigenlijk een tweede Scarface in zat.

Eigenlijk draait het verhaal niet om Escobar, wel om de Canadese surfer Nick (Josh Hutcherson, die je wel kent uit The Hunger Games), die naar Columbia trekt en daar pardoes verliefd wordt op Maria (Claudia Traisac), het nichtje van Escobar. En jawel, het sprookjeshuwelijk wordt een nachtmerrie eens de ware aard van Escobar naar boven komt.

Benicio del Toro doet er wel alles aan om zo goed mogelijk Escobar te vertolken, en ook al slaagt hij daar zeer goed in, is de rest van de cast gewoon te licht om deze film alsnog boven het gemiddelde te laten uitstijgen. Wat volgt is niet meer dan “wat had kunnen zijn als…”.

 

 

 

Didier BECU
20/09/2015


20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost 20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost 20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost 20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost 20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost 20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost 20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn