tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan

ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV

Leviathan

Movie
Drama

[91/100]   

Lumire
15/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Leviathan, the latest film by Andrey Zvyagintsev, was created with the support of the Russian Ministry of Culture and is the entry for the Oscar for Best Foreign Film, but only recently the film can be seen in Russia (although two million Russians already saw it tghrough illegal means). Oficially because of a silly law of Vladimir Putin that forbids swearing in movies. Believe us, there are a lot of ugly words and many vodka is served, but the real reason for banning Leviathan is that the director is criticizing the Putin-regime too much.

Leviathan is somewhat based on the Book of Job. Besides a poignant love story, Andrey Zvyagintsev denounces the corruption in his country. Nikolai (Aleksey Serebryakov) lives with his wife Lilya (Elena Lyadova ) in a coastal town on the Barents Sea. The corrupt mayor (Roman Madyanov) wants to take his land in any way possible. Nikolai can count on the help of a befriended lawyer (Vladimir Vdovichenkov) in Moscow, but the mayor can’t be intimidated.

Many critics found it incomprehensible that Leviathan didn’t receive the Golden Palm. It sounds like a story we keep on repeating, but after The Return, The Banishment and Elena, the Russian filmmaker has created another cinematic gem that feels like a splendid mixture of an Eastern European variant of a Martin Scorsese crime story and a modern Andrei Tarkovsky fairy tale. Zvyagintsev alternates intense dialogues with beautiful shots of barren landscapes. Add that to the amazing score by Philip Glass, and you know that Leviathan is one of the film jewels of 2014. A must!

Didier BECU
15/02/2015


NL

Je kan veel over Rusland of de voormalige Sovjet-Unie zeggen, qua cinema zit je er bijna steeds op rozen. Het lijstje van meesterwerken is ellenlang en uiteraard mag je daar ook Leviathan, de laatste film van Andrey Zvyagintsev, aan toevoegen. Met wat geluk kan dit drama zelfs de Oscar voor Beste Buitenlandse Film binnenrijven. Ofschoon er naar schatting ruim twee miljoen Russen de film al via een illegale weg hebben gezien, is Leviathan nog maar onlangs door Vladimir Poetin en zijn gevolg vrijgegeven. Vreemd als je weet dat deze prent is gemaakt met de steun van het Russische ministerie van cultuur. Officieel was dat het gevolg van een dwaze recente wet die het vloeken verbiedt. Er vallen natuurlijk heel wat lelijke woorden en er worden talloze liters vodka gezopen, de echte reden van de verbanning is wellicht dat deze film net iets te veel het Poetin-regime hekelt.

Leviathan is lichtjes gebaseerd op het Boek van Job. Naast een aangrijpend liefdesverhaal, wil Andrey Zvyagintsev vooral ook de corruptie in zijn land (en dus van het Poetin-regime) aan de kaak stellen. Nikolai (Aleksey Serebryakov) leeft samen met zijn vrouw Lilya (Elena Lyadova) in een kuststadje aan de Barentszee. Zijn woning is een doorn in het oog van de corrupte burgemeester (Roman Madyanov) die de grond op alle mogelijke manieren wil afpakken. Nikolai kan op de hulp van een bevriende advocaat (Vladimir Vdovichenkov) uit Moskou rekenen, maar de burgervader geeft zich niet zo maar gewonnen.

Heel wat critici begrepen niet waarom Leviathan niet met de Gouden Palm naar huis kon. Het klinkt misschien voorspellend, maar na The Return, The Banishment en Elena tovert deze Russische cineast nog maar eens een cinematografisch pareltje uit zijn hoed dat zowel op een Oost-Europese variant van een Martin Scorsese-misdaadverhaal, als op een hedendaags Andrei Tarkovsky-sprookje lijkt. Zvyagintsev wisselt intense (brutale) dialogen af met prachtige shots van dorre landschappen. Na afloop blijven er maar weinig huisjes overeind, zelfs de kerk moet eraan geloven. Cinematografisch vernuft dat nog eens wordt versterkt door de indrukwekkende score van Philip Glass. Kort samengevat: Leviathan is één van de filmparels van 2014 die je gewoonweg niet mag missen!

Didier BECU
15/02/2015


15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan 15/02/2015 : ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV - Leviathan

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour