tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : ANDREW HEATH - Flux

ANDREW HEATH

Flux

MusicCD
ClassicalExperimentalMinimal

[70/100]   

Disco Gecko
29/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let us be straight and honest: Flux by Andrew Heath is not exactly the kind of album that will please everyone's taste. You can describe the second work of this composer as a listening task, a work in which the listener is almost forced to discover the beauty of the details.

Heath is inspired by artists such as Roedelius and Harold Budd, and for those who are not familiar with them, that means neoclassical music with a lot of experiments. The CD has eight songs with very different titles (Caught in Amber or The Tree Is Sleeping), but Flux actually feels like one whole.

The sound is dominated by minimal piano sounds that have a repetitive structure. A lot of details (eg. a bell or birdsong) give the compositions a dreamy atmosphere, even though the Satie sound sometimes sounds rather frightening.

Flux is an auditory challenge that demands a lot from the listener, but once you started, a great adventure full of unexpected noises is waiting for you.

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


NL

Laten we maar meteen met de deur in huis vallen: Flux van Andrew Heath is niet meteen het soort plaat dat bij iedereen in de smaak zal vallen. Je zou het tweede werk van deze componist gerust een luisteropdracht kunnen noemen, een werk waarin de luisteraar bijna wordt gedwongen om de schoonheid van de details te ontdekken.

Heath is geïnspireerd door artiesten zoals Roedelius en Harold Budd, en in mensentaal betekent dat zo veel als neoklassieke muziek met heel wat experimenten. De cd bestaat uit 8 nummers met zeer uiteenlopende titels (van Caught In Amber tot The Tree Is Sleeping), maar eigenlijk voelt Flux aan als één geheel.

Alles wordt overheerst door minimale pianoklanken die een repetitieve structuur hebben en waar heel wat detailgeluiden (bijv. gewoon een belletje of vogelgezang) het stuk een dromerige sfeer geven, ook al klinken de Satie-geluiden soms eerder beangstigend.

Flux is een auditieve uitdaging die veel van de luisteraar vergt, maar eens je de over de drempel bent, wacht er een mooie avontuur vol onverwachte geluiden op je.

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


 

Next reviews
ALIASING • Spell Rising
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass
MANICURED NOISE • Northern Stories 1978/80
DIRK SERRIES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
BLISSARD • Blissard
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Brussels, AB (26th September 2015)
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person

 

Same combination of genres: CLASSICAL + EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Upon Contact (Reworked)
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn