tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

04/06/2015 : ANDY THE KID - Linchpin

ANDY THE KID

Linchpin

MusicCD (EP)
Hard RockIndustrial MetalIndustrial RockRock

[75/100]   
04/06/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

ANDY THE KID is known as bassist of Static-X/ Wayne Static (solo), We Are The Riot (with Coal Chamber members) and Dope. We Are The Riot is currently on hold, because Coal Chamber released its new album, so Andy found the time to release a solo EP.

This EP starts superbly with the opener ‘Eat You Alive’ with the cooperation of singer Chris Hall (Stabbing Westward, The Dreaming). The song is up-tempo, with fine breaks, good song writing and that great, emotional voice of Chris. This is how to create great accessible industrial rock! The same ingredients are present on ‘Truth Or Dare’, although the word ‘accessible’ should be written in capital letters. There is nothing wrong with "accessible" when you bring it with such quality. During the somewhat safely played, but still easy to sing along Pendulum cover ‘The Island’, we get acquainted with the imposing voice of Aaron Nordstrom (Gemini Syndrome).

In the title song, the music chooses a more hard rock direction with only a bit of industrial. The songs ‘Roll On Through’ and ‘Cowboys‘ remain faithful to the more hard rock trend. It's like when Velvet Revolver discovered Mötley Crüe (chorus lines) and transformed the material into a personal style. It sounds licked, with the right quality and (major) production, but it lacks the quality and the fineness of the first two numbers.

 

Ron SCHOONWATER
04/06/2015


 

Next reviews
LUKAS MOODYSSON • We Are The Best
WORLD GONE • EP
THOMAS BRINKMANN • What You Hear (is what you hear)
POKEY LAFARGE • Something In The Water
FABRICE DU WELZ • Alleluia
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2
STAHLNEBEL & BLACK SELKET • We Break the Silence
ANNE THERESA DE KEERSMAEKER & ROSAS • Golden Hours (As you like it), Antwerpen, deSingel, 28/05/2015
ROEL REINE • The Man With The Iron Fists 2
ALAN WHITE • Reclaim

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL METAL
PIG • Pain Is God
OST+FRONT • Ikarus
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
OST+FRONT • Adrenalin
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
TORQUE ORDER • Metal Machines
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
KMFDM • Paradise
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIG • The Gospel

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour