tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH

live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Concert
Dark ElectroNew wave

[89/100]   
12/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It was my first time at Zappa and I must say that the venue is pretty cool! It looks like it's located a safe area with enough parking space around. The sound is good and there seems to be more than enough lights for the light engineer to use.

Simi Nah is the opening band. Some of you might have seen them before in Ghent or at other events, for me it was the first time. Nice to see mother and daughter together on stage! Love their electronic cold wave and minimal wave sound. The French tongue is always nice and they way they use it does however, not sound to much Vive La Fête. The lyrics seem to be pretty much about the same: pretty young girls... The 'Euroshima (Wardance)' cover from Snowy Red is not bad at all (Not really surprising if you know Alice is the daughter from the late Micky Mike/Snowy Red). After that song more people started to dance and Simi Nah set fire to the place. The background videos were nice, the lightshow was a bit minimalistic. I loved their epic ending song, a that ended in a real sound climax!

Of course most of the people came to see Anne Clark & herrB! The loud acclamation when they entered the stage was very clear! Anne is still loved by many! She's a well preserved woman and her voice still sounds as sharp as her words, hitting where it hurts, protesting against many thing in our society. Her dark poetry gets a nice extra electronic infusion thanks to herrB! As expected they played a lot of the newer songs the made together, but the crowd seemed to know them already. However it was clear that some older fans where waiting for Anne's big hits like 'Heaven', which sounded great and 'Wallies', which got a slightly new herrB shape. Other good ones past the revenue... 'Hope Road', 'Full Moon' and 'Killing Time'. The new sound the duo brings is clearly 2014-ish and that is a good thing! A song like 'Counter act' (1991) still tasted good, and by the time she ended her regular set with 'Sleeper in Metropolis' the whole venue was dancing!
It was a blast and you could feel the happiness of the people! A raging end of a set with lots of new stuff!

She came back on stage, highly acclaimed and continued with 'When You Think Your Time Has Come', 'A Dream' (with a bit too long intro imho) and then, as highlight for the crowd 'Our Darkness'! The outburst was there! Even though I had to adjust a bit to the new version, it was well worth it! I had a great night & I hope you enjoyed it too!

Up to the next event!


(interview: Portion Control & PNE)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
12/04/2014


12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace