tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident

ANNTI JOKINEN

The Resident

MovieMovie classics
Thriller

[52/100]   

Hammer Films
20/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Until the end of the 70s the British Hammer studio’s were a model for good horror. The gothic and colourful atmosphere produced numerous classics. After the general public lost interest in the classic horror film, the production company was shut down. In recent years Hammer tried to profit of the current horror boom, and so the studio was revived. The most famous films of the new Hammer period are The Woman In Black with Daniel Radcliffe and The Resident.

The Resident barely got any attention, and once you 've seen the movie, you know why. Surgeon Juliet Devereau (Hilary Swank ) is sad because her relationship has just ended and she is looking for a new start. Apparently she does not earn that much and during the house hunting she finds no apartment that suits her budget. Eventually she finds a rental apartment for a small price, unfortunately there seems to be something very wrong. Landlord Max (Jeffrey Dean Morgan) shows his best face in the beginning, but he turns out to be a pervert who spies his tenants. With Juliet he goes very far, because he slips into her bedroom at night.

The only reason you continue watching this film is Hilary Swank and you wonder why this Oscar winner decided to play in such an ordinary thriller, that uses all the (say ludicrous) clichés. Even Christopher Lee who plays a guest role can’t do anything about it. Finnish director Antti Jokinen, who makes his debut with The Resident, has not added one inch of originality to this thriller. Anyone who likes films like The Hand That Rocks The Cradle or The Stepfather (know your classics!) immediately knows what will happen next in this story. The only thing you learn of this mess is that Hilary Swank is a brilliant actress who even manages to make mediocre productions acceptable to watch.

Didier BECU
20/12/2014


NL

Tot aan het einde van de jaren 70 was het Britse Hammer een toonbeeld voor goede horror. De gotische en kleurrijke sfeer heeft tal van klassiekers voortgebracht. Nadat het grote publiek zijn interesse verloor in de klassieke horrorfilm, werd ook het productiehuis opgedoekt. De laatste jaren heeft men geprobeerd om te profiteren van de horrorboom en heeft men Hammer dus nieuw leven ingeblazen. De bekendste films uit de nieuwe Hammer-periode zijn The Woman In Black met Daniel Radcliffe en The Resident.

The Resident brak nauwelijks potten en eens je de film hebt gezien, weet je waarom dat zo is. De chirurge Juliet Devereau (Hilary Swank) heeft net een relatie achter de rug die is misgelopen. Blijkbaar verdient ze niet al te veel, want tijdens de huizenjacht vindt ze geen enkel appartement dat in haar budget past. Uiteindelijk ontdekt ze tot haar verbazing een huurflat voor een habbekrats, helaas schuilt er wel een ader onder het gras. De verhuurder Max (Jeffrey Dean Morgan) haalt in het begin wel zijn tandpastaglimlach boven, maar blijkt een pervert te zijn die de huurders bespiedt. Bij Juliet gaat hij wel heel ver, want hij dringt ’s nachts binnen in haar kamer en verdooft haar.

De enige reden waarom je anderhalf uur blijft kijken is Hilary Swank, ook al vraag je je af waarom deze tweevoudige Oscarwinnares zich liet overhalen om mee te spelen in zo’n ordinaire thriller, die alle platgetreden (zeg maar potsierlijke) clichés gebruikt. Zelfs Christopher Lee, die een gastrol speelt, kan daar niets aan verhelpen. De Finse regisseur Antti Jokinen die met The Resident zijn debuut maakt, heeft geen greintje originaliteit in deze thriller gestoken. Wie films als The Hand That Rocks The Cradle of The Stepfather (ken je klassiekers!) zag, weet meteen wat er in dit verhaal zal gebeuren. Het enige wat je uit deze ongeloofwaardige troep leert is dat Hilary Swank een schitterende actrice is die er zelfs in slaagt om rommel boven de middelmaat te tillen. Meer moet je van The Resident niet verwachten.

Didier BECU
20/12/2014


20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident 20/12/2014 : ANNTI JOKINEN - The Resident

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret