tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears

ANTAGONIST ZERO

No Tears

MusicCD (EP)
Black MetalCatatonic MetalDoomprogressive metal

[80/100]   

Inverse Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Finnish band Antagonist Zero describes its music as Catatonic Metal (probably named after the song Catatonic from 2012). But what does it mean? The music sounds like a mix of doom, black/death and melodic metal. The singing alternates between growls, grunts and clean vocals. The songs sound quite atmospheric and create a nice contrast with the dark passages.

The album contains five songs and forty minutes of music. The title track No Tears is a strong opener with a progressive structure. The track begins with a doomy dark and growling voice and Black Sabbath-lioke riffs. After three minutes, we hear clean (backing) vocals. A spacy guitar does the rest. Then the song goes in all directions and gets more melodic than at the start. A very interesting piece of music. The other tracks have the same song structure. Only Mirra Muruseni On is different with a guitar intro that refers to Iron Maiden and vocals in a Finnish or dialect (Mirra means my love). A catchy track.

Antagonist Zero likes to explore various metal genres and has found an interesting angle. Those who are bored with the stuff you hear on today’s radio, definitely should give this a try.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

De Finse band Antagonist Zero omschrijft zijn muziek als Catatonic Metal (waarschijnlijk genoemd naar de song Catatonic uit 2012). Wat het ook moge betekenen... de muziek klinkt als een mengeling van doom, black/death en melodieuze metal. De vocals zijn een afwisseling tussen growls, grunts en cleane zang. De songs klinken bij momenten vrij atmosferisch en dat zorgt voor een mooi kontrast met de donkere passages.

Het album bevat vijf songs maar die zijn dan wel goed voor bijna veertig minuten muziek. Er wordt meteen sterk geopend met de titeltrack No Tears, voorzien van een progressieve opbouw. De track begint nogal doomy met een donkere growlstem en op Black Sabbath gebaseerde riffs. Na drie minuten horen we cleane zang en backing vocals waardoor de track opengetrokken wordt. Een spacy gitaarsolo doet de rest. De song gaat dan een beetje alle kanten op en is melodieuzer dan in het begin. De finale is best stevig met o.a. pittig drumwerk. Een heel interessante track. De andere tracks hebben een min of meer gelijklopende songstructuur. Alleen Mirra Muruseni On is iets of wat anders opgebouwd: een stuk korter, een gitaarintro die heel erg naar Iron Maiden verwijst, ruimte voor bas en zang in oud- of dialectisch Fins (het betekent zoiets als Mirra mijn liefste). Een vrij toegankelijke en catchy track.

Antagonist Zero zit tussen een aantal metal genres en heeft op die manier een interessante invalshoek gevonden. Een goed album met fijne songs, voorzien van een progressieve opbouw. Wie de opgeklopte vrolijkheid op de hedendaagse radio beu is, moet dit beslist eens uittesten.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears 10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution