tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears

ANTAGONIST ZERO

No Tears

MusicCD (EP)
Black MetalCatatonic MetalDoomprogressive metal

[80/100]   

Inverse Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Finnish band Antagonist Zero describes its music as Catatonic Metal (probably named after the song Catatonic from 2012). But what does it mean? The music sounds like a mix of doom, black/death and melodic metal. The singing alternates between growls, grunts and clean vocals. The songs sound quite atmospheric and create a nice contrast with the dark passages.

The album contains five songs and forty minutes of music. The title track No Tears is a strong opener with a progressive structure. The track begins with a doomy dark and growling voice and Black Sabbath-lioke riffs. After three minutes, we hear clean (backing) vocals. A spacy guitar does the rest. Then the song goes in all directions and gets more melodic than at the start. A very interesting piece of music. The other tracks have the same song structure. Only Mirra Muruseni On is different with a guitar intro that refers to Iron Maiden and vocals in a Finnish or dialect (Mirra means my love). A catchy track.

Antagonist Zero likes to explore various metal genres and has found an interesting angle. Those who are bored with the stuff you hear on today’s radio, definitely should give this a try.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

De Finse band Antagonist Zero omschrijft zijn muziek als Catatonic Metal (waarschijnlijk genoemd naar de song Catatonic uit 2012). Wat het ook moge betekenen... de muziek klinkt als een mengeling van doom, black/death en melodieuze metal. De vocals zijn een afwisseling tussen growls, grunts en cleane zang. De songs klinken bij momenten vrij atmosferisch en dat zorgt voor een mooi kontrast met de donkere passages.

Het album bevat vijf songs maar die zijn dan wel goed voor bijna veertig minuten muziek. Er wordt meteen sterk geopend met de titeltrack No Tears, voorzien van een progressieve opbouw. De track begint nogal doomy met een donkere growlstem en op Black Sabbath gebaseerde riffs. Na drie minuten horen we cleane zang en backing vocals waardoor de track opengetrokken wordt. Een spacy gitaarsolo doet de rest. De song gaat dan een beetje alle kanten op en is melodieuzer dan in het begin. De finale is best stevig met o.a. pittig drumwerk. Een heel interessante track. De andere tracks hebben een min of meer gelijklopende songstructuur. Alleen Mirra Muruseni On is iets of wat anders opgebouwd: een stuk korter, een gitaarintro die heel erg naar Iron Maiden verwijst, ruimte voor bas en zang in oud- of dialectisch Fins (het betekent zoiets als Mirra mijn liefste). Een vrij toegankelijke en catchy track.

Antagonist Zero zit tussen een aantal metal genres en heeft op die manier een interessante invalshoek gevonden. Een goed album met fijne songs, voorzien van een progressieve opbouw. Wie de opgeklopte vrolijkheid op de hedendaagse radio beu is, moet dit beslist eens uittesten.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears 10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace