tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

12/10/2015 : ANTIMATTER - Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (09/10/2015)

ANTIMATTER

Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (09/10/2015)

Concert
12/10/2015, Ruben SAEY

On October 9th, 2015 Antimatter released the new album The Judas Table. This date also was the start of their new tour, The Judas Tour. The first concert was at De Verlichte Geest in Roeselare, Belgium. A nice music club which is mostly known in the area for its metal-oriented gigs. It is a beautiful location for a gig in an intimate atmosphere.

The support act was the Belgian acoustic duo A Bundle Of Joy that created a dark intimate atmosphere with its music. After a short break, the lights dimmed and the stage was shrouded in a mist, while the room filled with an enthusiastic audience.

It was immediately clear that Antimatter was in for it and that improved the atmosphere. The room was filled with the typical guitar sound of Antimatter, added of course with the delicate voice of singer Mick Moss. The reaction of the audience was great, the concert was okay and fabulous. When I looked around, I only saw faces that were enjoying the music.

Just like the new album, the playlist was a collection of older and new song. It was the first time that the fans heard the live versions of new songs such as Black Eyed Man, which they obviously already had discovered through the digital superhighway YouTube. The response of the public was fantastic and the applause afterwards was great and well deserved.

It was also wonderful to see how singer Mick lost himself in his music. He closed his eyes several times during the set and he allowed himself to drift away on the atmosphere that was created by the merging of the band and the audience. The music was explosive, but on the other side delicate and fragile too, and that is what makes a concert of Antimatter always so interesting.

It is not just a band that is playing music, it's an overall concept in which the band and the audience become one unity, and in a way you forget about time and space, so you can thoroughly enjoy this special unique moment. The band gave the audience what it wanted: melodic rock with brilliant guitar solos and drums, and of course the magnificent voice of Mick.

It's hard to pick out the highlights of the evening, but I mention tracks like Paranova, Black Eyed Man, Over Your Shoulder, Leaving Eden... you'll understand what I mean. After 80 minutes, the set ended with the very beautiful Stillborn Empires. Mick and his band members thanked the audience for their loyalty and because they had been part of this special evening. The crowd at the merchandising booth after the concert is always a good indication. This great gig was simply the successful start of what can (and will) be a good tour.

Ruben SAEY
12/10/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
06
CARBON MARTYR Addresses Mankind & Technology With Debut Album
11
06
Darkwave Duo Band HANGING FREUD Speaks Of Loss And Transformation with 'Persona Normal'
11
06
30 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
10
06
30 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 43 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
11
06
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
11
06
PATIENCE
The Church (Night School, 2016)
10
06
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
09
06
FAUNA TWIN
Water On Mars
08
06
PERSEPHONE
Downfall
07
06
CREMATORY
Ravens Calling