tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer

ANTOINE FUQUA

The Equalizer

MovieCinema
Action
Sony Pictures Releasing
26/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Denzel Washington is back. Nah, this is not a line that we picked from some promo trailer, it’s just the truth. The sad side of the story however is that he does this in a mediocre, but fine action movie that you’ll soon erase from your cinema memory.

Once there was a New York- cab driver who took care of a young prostitute. That’s it!, we hear director Antoine Fuqua thinking! This time it’s an owner from a DIY-store who will do the job. The director even named his personage Robert. Yeah, talking about taking it a bit too far! But mind you, this is where any resemblance with Paul Schrader’s master script stops.

Robert McCall (Denzel Washington) is a control freak. He is intelligent, strong and a good man. Reasons enough for the young hooker Terri (Chloë Grace Moretz) to seek some protection with. Nah, your dirty minds, she does this not in bed, but she reads with him some pages from The Old Man And The Sea by Hemmingway in a fastfood bar. And then of course it happens. The young girl refuses to obey the commands from the Russian mob and they rework her pretty face with acid. The rest is easy to guess: Robert will let them bleed!

In case you think the title sounds very much like an 80’s-product then you’re right as The Equalizer could have been on the poster from some old Charles Bronson-movie. Director Fuqua certainly did a nice job, especially as since Training Day he only made mediocre movies. The bad guys are so over the top that you start to like them. At the end Fuqua exaggerates so much that it looks like he’s bringing an ode to the slasher genre. Because yes, all bad guys die (what would you have expected otherwise?), but they all go to hell in the most terrible way you can think of! And what about Washington? Well, his latest movies are definitely not masterpieces, but he remains one of the best current actors.

Something for popcorn fanatics. It’s yummy, that’s for sure! Is it healthy? You know the score!

Didier BECU
26/09/2014


NL

Denzel Washington is terug. Neen, het is geen zinnetje uit één of ander promopraatje, gewoon de waarheid. De andere kant van de medaille is weliswaar dat hij dat in een matige, weliswaar zeer onderhoudende actiefilm doet die je in geen tijd uit je cinemageheugen wist.

Ooit was er een taxichauffeur in New York die zich in zijn vrije tijd over een jong hoertje bekommerde. Bingo!, dacht regisseur Antoine Fuqua en dus maakte hij er gewoon een eigenaar van een doe-het-zelfzaak van. Fuqua geneert zich zelfs niet om zijn personage Robert te noemen. Slik dus, maar daarmee stopt de vergelijking met Paul Schraders meesterlijke script dan ook.

Robert McCall (Denzel Washington) is een controlefreak die alles in het leven tot in de puntjes beheerst. Zijn stoere borst zorgt ervoor dat het jonge hoertje Terri (Chloë Grace Moretz) bescherming bij hem zoekt. Neen hoor, beste viespeuken, ze doet dat niet in bed maar gewoon door met hem in één of andere fastfoodbar passages uit The Old Man And The Sea van Hemmingway te lezen. En dan gebeurt natuurlijk het onvermijdelijke: de Russische maffia bewerkt het gezicht van het meisje met allerlei zuren omdat ze niet wil luisteren naar hun bevelen. De rest laat zich raden: onze vriend Robert zal de rekening vereffenen.

Indien je vindt dat de titel een verschrikkelijk hoog eightiesgehalte heeft dan heb je gelijk. Zowel de naam als de inhoud zouden immers perfect bij een Charles Bronson-film passen. Fuqua doet het zeker niet slecht, vooral als je weet dat hij sinds Training Day alleen maar middelmatige films heeft gedraaid. De bad guys zijn zo over the top dat je er om de duur gaat van houden en op het einde lijkt het wel alsof de regisseur door zijn overdrijvingen een ode aan het slashergenre brengt. Want jawel, alle slechteriken sterven (of wat dacht je?), maar zij doen dat allen op een uiterst huiverachtige manier. En Washington? Tja, ondanks zijn recente matige films blijft hij wel nog altijd één van de allerbeste acteurs.

Voer voor popcornfanaten. Lekker is het zeker, of het gezond is laten we maar beter in het midden.

Didier BECU
26/09/2014


26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour