tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

27/10/2015 : APOCALYPTICA/TRACER - Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)

APOCALYPTICA/TRACER

Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)

Concert
27/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

On 24th October, Apocalyptica played in Brussels, and the Australian band Tracer as support act with whom Peek-A-Boo had a nice conversation.

Tracer played an energetic short set. Of course, that is the fate if you're just a support act and nothing can change that. They played songs that mostly came from their recent album Water For Thirsty Dogs, like the title track We're Only Animals, Asternaut Jugernaut, Halfway to Zero, as well as some other good songs. Tracer managed to entertain the audience. We heard a strong voice and an excellent band, so we only can hope that we will see them again later at the summer festivals, because they undoubtedly will set the tent on fire.

Apocalyptica apparently attracts different people: from metal fans to housewives, you saw them everywhere in the AB! That’s normal as their music is also diverse.

Apolyptica started in style and began with three instrumentals: Reign Of Fear, Grace and I'm Not Jesus. Then Perez came on stage to add some vocals to the songs. Personally, I thought it was time to do that, because before I missed something. Unfortunately, Perez voice was too quietly mixed. Actually, you can say a lot about the mix as the sound was a bit too loud, especially the bass drum was too dominant.

It was not a surprising set, which of course had the great Master of the Puppets and Inquisition Symphony, and they provided the necessary metal sounds. There was also a quieter moment in the set that showed the many possibilities of the three cellos. Towards the end of the set, there was some harder work like Refuse / Resist, Seek & Destroy and the Edvard Grieger cover In The Hall of the Mountain Hall. During the encores we heard I Do not Care and Dead Man Eyes.

Apocalyptica played a good show in the AB with impressive visuals on a big screen. The songs with Perez surely were the best. The rest seemed like a well-oiled machine, and sometimes I had the feeling that I was watching a gimmick, but nonetheless performed in a good way.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/10/2015


NL

Op 24 oktober kwam Apocalytpica naar Brussel, met in het voorprogramma de Australische band Tracer, waarmee Peek-A-Boo voor hun optreden een fijn gesprek had.

Tracer speelde een energiek korte set. Maar ja, dat is nu eenmaal het lot als je een support act bent en daaraan kan je niets veranderen. Ze speelden meestal songs uit hun recente album Water For Thirsty Dogs, zoals het titelnummer We’re Only Animals, Asternaut Jugernaut, Halfway to Zero, alsook wat andere goede songs. Tracer slaagde erin om de zaal flink op te warmen. We hoorden een sterke stem en een stevige band waarvan we hopen dat we hem volgend jaar op de zomerfestivals zullen zien, want deze mannen zullen ongetwijfeld de tent in vuur en vlam zetten.

Apocalyptica trekt blijkbaar verschillende mensen aan: van metalfans tot gewone huisvrouwen, je zag ze overal in de AB! Ze maken dan ook muziek die je niet zomaar in één vakje kan stoppen.

Apolyptica kwam in stijl op en startte met drie instrumentale nummers: Reign Of Fear, Grace en I’m Not Jesus. Daarna kwam Perez op het podium om enkele songs van vocals te voozien. Zelf vond ik het de hoogste tijd dat hij erbij kwam, want ik miste toch iets. Jammer dat Perez's stem wat stilletjes in de mix zat. Over die mix kun je trouwens het een en ander kwijt: zo was het geluid een beetje te luid, met vooral een te overheersende basdrum.

Het was een niet al te verrassende set, waarin natuurlijk het fantastische Master of the Puppets en Inquisition Symphony zatten en voor de nodige metal zorgden. Er was ook een rustiger moment in de set, waarop de vele mogelijkheden van de drie cello’s tot hun recht kwamen. Tegen het einde van de set kregen we opnieuw wat harder werk zoals Refuse/Resist, Seek & Destroy en de Edvard Grieger cover In The Hall of the Mountain Hall. Tijdens de encores werden I Don’ t Care en Dead Man Eyes opgevoerd.

Apocalyptica bracht een mooie show in de AB met indrukwekkende visuals op een groot scherm. De songs met Perez maakten de beste indruk. Voor de rest bleek de band een goed geoliede machine met net iets teveel showallures waardoor het bij momenten vrij gekunsteld overkwam. Daardoor had ik ook soms het gevoel dat ik naar een gimmick keek, alhoewel alles goed in elkaar zat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/10/2015


27/10/2015 : APOCALYPTICA/TRACER - Brussels, AB (24th October 2015) 27/10/2015 : APOCALYPTICA/TRACER - Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back