tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/06/2011 : ARBEID ADELT! - live@AB2011

ARBEID ADELT!

live@AB2011

MusicCD
MinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[80/100]   
13/06/2011, Didier BECU

It’s been quite funny to write a review from Arbeid Adelt! Especially as it was Marcel Vanthilt himself who told me that this band’s name would be kind of ridiculous in English.

Having said that, even if they sing in my own language I never understood one word of it and that’s not because they have terrible accents, just because, as they’re musicians who believe in the power of Dadaism and what makes no sense for someone, is just logical to others.

The history is quite known by now. The three young heroes Marcel Vanthilt (later one of the first MTV-VJ’s ever!), Luc Van Acker (some years later to be involved with wax Trax) and Jan Vanroelen made a sort of minimal synthpop that once was embraced by the radio and so they were able to score a monsterhit in Belgium with “De dag dat het zonlicht niet meer scheen”.

It was clear from the very first time that this band would never walk in line and with such bands you know they often end up in obscurity, and so did Arbeid Adelt!, till they finally disappeared.

There’s a lack of good albums these days and as human beings can be quite melancholic sheep, Arbeid Adelt! were asked to reform several times and after several bids, they finally ended up in the famous AB-venue in Brussels at where they performed earlier this year the entire “Jonge helden”-album (their classic album) and some new stuff.

However great this show might have been (it was as I was there), it was quite obvious that Arbeid Adelt! is a memory and that’s only normal as everything that surrounded Arbeid Adelt! was very 80’s, some lyrics deal even about streets that no longer exists.

And in the spirit of memories, the band decided to release this legendary show onto CD that features the highlights of this concert, including “Roodborstje” , that with its 25 seconds must be one of the shortiest songs ever written!

Apart from a beautiful souvenir, this record shows how good this band is today. The eighties will never come back but the guitarline from Luc Van Acker in “De man die alles noteert” stays one of the most brilliant things I've heard and it’s difficult to keep your eyes dry on the excellent tear jerker that “Décoiffee” is, and of course with the vocals from Dani Klein.

Can you live without this album? Of course you can, we can’t imagine one live album you can’t live without but “live@AB2011” is an excellent document from a band (and later its members in several ways) put a stamp on (Belgian) music history.

And yes Mr. Vanthilt, Mr. Vanroelen en Mr. Van Acker: perhaps another new studio-album?

Didier BECU
13/06/2011


 

Next reviews
CHRIS WATSON & MARCUS DAVIDSON • Cross-Pollination
CAITHNESS • Apostasy & the sorrowful child
ROEDELIUS • Wie das Wispern des Windes...
SARABETH TUCEK • Get well soon
AMNISTIA • Egotrap
HANIN ELIAS • Get it back
NOISEPOETNOBODY & VANCE GALLOWAY • Uranium 238
CURRENT 93 • Honeysuckle AEons
IKON • In the shadow of the angel
TIARI • Solar EP

 

Other reviews from ARBEID ADELT!
ARBEID ADELT! • Seaside Revisited 3 (16/04/2016)
ARBEID ADELT! • Gent, Vooruit (19/02/2016)
ARBEID ADELT! • Brussels, Beursschouwburg 11/11/2015
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Temptations Tapes Volume II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Der Eisenberg Sampler Vol 4
SCARLET SOHO • Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities
FLESH & FELL
VARIOUS ARTISTS • _ever Alive: A Tribute to Snowy Red
PARADE GROUND • The Golden Years
THE SHORTWAVE MYSTERY • Signals from Afar
SIXTH JUNE • Back for a day EP

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
SEKEL
Crayons
22
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
21
06
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
20
06
THE POGUES FEATURING KIRSTY MACCOLL
Fairytale Of New York
19
06
0KONTROL
Traitors
18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control