tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/04/2014 : ARKONA - Yav

ARKONA

Yav

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalHeavy Metal

[85/100]   

Napalm Records
16/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Arkona returns after three long years and finally releases the new album "Yav". The Russian warriors revolving around the impressive front lady Masha "Scream" Arkhipova have perfected their unique style. Like never before, the band interweaves brutal Metal riffs, pounding drums and folk melodies, the latter played mostly on authentic and medieval instruments. Sweeping and profound songs, epic compositions and dream-like atmospheres create the distinctive and enthralling sound of Arkona. "Yav" offers 70 minutes of original, majestic and unique Pagan Folk Metal!

'Zarozhdeni' contains a lot of different voices and is driven by a lot of instruments (heck even some special medieval ones and even an orgue that reminds me of the Doors). The Russian vocals seems to be well fitting. This one reminds me of a pagan festival or a demonic feast!

'Na Strazhe Novyh let' sounds more chaotic & demonic. Love the flute and the more folky instruments. This one somehow reminds me of Ruslana (but that's not really a good thing in these times).

'Serbia' sounds like a real epic song, for the first time I really regret that I don't understand Russian.

'Zov Pustyh Dereven' is a very explosive song with lots of old instruments in it. All kind of voices jump in creating an explosive sound.

Gorod Snov' sounds in the start very Irish or at least very folky until the vocals take over and the screaming creates a more melancholic sound.

'Ved'ma' starts like a horror story with folky roots and gets heavy screaming once it's heatened up! Somehow this one sounds like the heavy version of Metsatöll or even Winny Puhh! Love the synths and the acoustic guitar in it! After a while it gets a bit more like an epic sound, despite the ragging drums!

'Chado Indigo' has even a real piano in it and sounds as dramatic as in the first years of Lacrimosa before it explodes into a screaming hell!

'Jav' starts also very dramatic and with a medieval piano (a clavecimble, I think) before some electronics give it some pathos. Soft guitars render it a weeping sound and then the raging and screaming vocals tear it all apart!

'V Ob'jat'jah Kramoly' starts acoustic, gets taken over by a monster and doesn't sound healthy. The sound is a bit like weeping, ready to say goodbye to life! The end is pretty hypnotic and very melancholic!

It's still strange to hear Russian vocals, for sure in these strange times. I'm not going to pose any political comments, so I'll just stick to my review... I enjoyed the change in setting and this new sound...

They played a great set at Metal Female Voices Fest. 2014, here's what we gathered:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/aria-flame/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/xandria/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/xandria-sacrificum/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/diabulus-in-musica/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/diabulus-in-musica-argia/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/ancient-bards/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/ancient-bards-a-new-dawn-ending/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/skeptical-minds/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/skeptical-minds-run-for-your-live-2014/

for those who missed them at one of the finest festivals of Belgium, here's a rematch:

Arkona + Skálmöld supporting Eluveitie:

09-11-2014 BE,

Vosselaar @ Biebob (this show has been moved to Trix in Borgerhout/Antwerp: http://www.biebob.be/concerts/?ee=100)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
16/04/2014


 

Next reviews
• Quirke
BROTHER FIRETRIBE • Diamond in the Firepit
AMBASSADOR 21 • Riot Generation
PHILIPPE CLAUDEL • Avant l'hiver
HELL:SECTOR • The Rise Of The Apocalypse
CAZZURILLO • Ghosts Are Surfing Now
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bluetown Electronica
DANIEL ALFREDSON • Echoes From The Dead (Skumtimmen)
FREEDOM CALL • Beyond
GODHEAD • The Shadow Realigned

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + HEAVY METAL
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)
ELUVEITIE • Origins
ALESTORM • Sunset on the Golden Age
SYLVATICA • Evil Seeds
METSATÖLL • Karjajuht
METSATÖLL • Tõrrede Kõhtudes (In the Bellies of Barrels) - Single
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • 29/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium | Haggard, Stille Volk, Rastaban & Dark Poem

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party