tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/04/2013 : ASYNJE - Genkaldt

ASYNJE

Genkaldt

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[90/100]   

Self-released
20/04/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

After their gig in Mons (Trolls et Légendes), I got this CD and am listening to it for a while (in between L.E.A.F., Folk Noir, C-Lekktor & Suicide Commando). It's nice Danish Pagan folk, some songs are a real party (as I also noticed during their live set: nice polka's e.g. ), others are perfect to dream and drift away. A name that pops up in my mind from time to time is Loreena McKennitt and this should be regarded as a great honour. I'm wondering if they can translate the lyrics from Danish into English (like on the Metsatöll cd's for ex). I think that would help some fans.

The use of a lot of different instruments (most of them from medieval times) and a tiny bit of electronics blend in perfectly with Nanna's voice. It's definitely good Danish Pagan Folk, captivating and haunting you for days. Depending on the song, it can be a happy or a rather dark mood that is set, but each song is always magical!

While I could name all the songs on the album when summing up the ones I love, it's 'Kaemperne Pä Dovrefjeld' (reminds me of Loreena), the sad story of 'Njord og Skade', 'I skoven' (nice slidjeridoo and violin, perfect for a folk dance), 'Viking party Polka' (indeed a great party) & 'Knivens Polska' (another fun song) that stand out.

After seeing this band on stage and listening endlessly to this CD, I'm pretty sure that they will get more gigs and play in a lot of big venues! I just hope that a lot of people read this and book them! This is a great first album! Up to the next one!

Here you find an overview of what can be found on our website about The Trolls et Légendes-Festival 2015:

Trolls et Légendes VI

Friday:

Naheulband (f), Feuerschwanz (d), La Horde (b)

Interview with Naheulband

Interview Feuerschwanz

album review Feuerschwanz

interview La Horde

Saturday:

Eluveitie (ch), Tanzwut (d), Huldre (dk), Nook Karavan (b)

Promo links:

interview Eluveitie

album review Eluveitie

live pics Eulveitie

live review Eluveitie

album review Tanzwut

Tanzwut interview

album review Huldre

Huldre interview

interview Nook Karavan

Sunday:

Corvus Corax (d), Rastaban (b), Cuélebre (sp), Cesair (nl)

Promo links:

interview Corvus Corax

album review Corvus Corax

interview Rastaban

album review Rastaban

interview Cuélebre

album review Cuélebre

interview Cesair at Trolls

album review Cesair

These bands will play during daytime:

interview Acus Vacuum

Interview Gny

A great compilation:

La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III with Cesair, Rastaban, Cuèlebre … Click here

Filip VAN MUYLEM
20/04/2013


 

Next reviews
• Review of the REWIND Festival in Ghent (DAY ONE) with Covenant, Neon Judgement, The Klinik, Red Zebra, SA42, Lebanon Hanover and Simi Nah (Ghent, 12 April 2013)
BARRY LEVINSON • THE BAY
FOLK NOIR • Songs From Home
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath
SHINESKI • Leave you in the dark ep
L.E.A.F. • L.E.A.F.
ROAR UTHAUG • COLD PREY BOX
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
SUICIDE COMMANDO, SOMAN, AESTHETIC PERFECTION, SAM, XP8, C-LEKKTOR & SURGYN • Vampireparty Live, 6/4/2013, Petrol, Antwerpen, Belgium
ASCETIC • Self Initiation

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
FOLK FOR THE PEOPLE • Folk for the People: a benefit compilation for the victims of repression in Ukraine
CESAIR • Dies, Nox et Omnia
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'
12
06
Soft Cell's Tainted Love re-released by Cleopatra Records!
12
06
CARBON MARTYR Addresses Mankind & Technology With Debut Album
11
06
Darkwave Duo Band HANGING FREUD Speaks Of Loss And Transformation with 'Persona Normal'
11
06
30 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
10
06
30 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)
12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
11
06
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
11
06
PATIENCE
The Church (Night School, 2016)
10
06
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
09
06
FAUNA TWIN
Water On Mars
08
06
PERSEPHONE
Downfall