tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/06/2015 : ATARAXIE - Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)

ATARAXIE

Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)

MusicCD
Death MetalDoom

[86/100]   

Weird Truth Productions
24/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French extreme doom/death metal band Ataraxie released 10 years ago this album and celebrate that birthday. The word Ataraxia was used by the Greeks to describe when someone has no troubles. When you hear this band, you can’t say it sounds like that.

Slow Transcending Agony was their first official album and it was well received by the critics. Since then they released more albums and with every release they musically have grown a bit. So in a way, this album was the starting point for their original doom sound. They combine fast dark metal with slowly doom.

But this album still sounds good. A very slow opener (Step into the Gloom) followed by the fantastic Funeral Hymn. Just when you think by that it will be slow, we get some nice breaks. L’ Ataraxie is a nice piece of 12 minutes. Every song lasts between 9 and 12 minutes, but you will never lose the attention. There is excellent guitar work, the vocals are heavy but with variation, also the drums are splendid.

This edition will be released on 1000 copies by the Weird Truth label and will include an exclusive bonus: a cover of The Tree of Life and Death by the Australian band diSEMBOWELEMENT. Not for everyone, that’s for sure, but a tip for lovers of doom.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/06/2015


NL

 De Franse extreme doom /death metal band Ataraxie bracht 10 jaar geleden hun eerste officiële album uit. Dit willen ze vieren met de geremasterde heruitgave daarvan. Bij de oude Grieken betekende ‘Ataraxia’ dat je je in een staat bevindt waarin je geen zorgen hebt. Bij het horen van deze band is dat echter het laatste waaraan je denkt.

Slow Transcending Agony werd bij zijn release goed onthaald. Sindsdien zijn ze muzikaal nog gegroeid waardoor dit album dus een beetje aan de basis van hun latere carrière lag. Deze originele doom band combineert ritmische dark metal met trage en logge doom, vandaag nog meer dan tien jaar terug en met meer variatie.

Dit album klinkt nog altijd geweldig en episch. Van de trage opener (Step Into the Gloom) gevolgd door het fantastische Funeral Hymn. Wanneer je bij deze laatste denkt dat het te sloom wordt, komen er tempowissels. L’ Ataraxie is een mooi werkstukje van 12 minuten. Elke song duurt ergens tussen 9 en 12 minuten, toch verlies je nergens de aandacht. De rifjes zijn goed geplaatst en er is puik gitaarwerk. De stem is uitstekend: heavy,met veel afwisseling en ook een pluim voor de drums die de songs tot hun recht laten komen.

Deze uitgave bestaat uit 1000 gelimiteerde digipacks die door het Weird Truth label wordt uitgebracht. De bonus is een cover van The Tree of Life and Death van de Australische band diSEMBOWELEMENT. Niet geschikt voor het grote publiek, maar voor liefhebbers van dit genre.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/06/2015


Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour