tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure

ATMOSPHERES

The Departure

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[88/100]   

Self-released
12/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fans of prog rock probably are familiar with bands like Oceansize, Naive and Palms. Just like those bands, Atmospheres creates the same type of atmospheric post-rock/prog-rock. In 2012 this Belgian band started as a one man project, but these days it is a four-piece band. The music contains fascinating and complex arrangements,characterized by crunchy guitars, melodic sound blankets and synths that give it some extra atmosphere.

The album sounds cosmic. That’s anything but surprising, if you know the themes. A good example is The Farthest Star. In the middle of the song youl notice synths that create a cosmic atmosphere. The vocals are emotional, there’s a nice bass and both the drums and guitar do their duty. The Void is more ambient.

Into Orbit starts with echoing guitar sounds that actually could be played by The Edge, the rest of the song is prog-rock with breaking rhythms and a punchy bass. The album contains ten tracks that take you on an exciting space trip.

You probably noticed that we are reviewing a release of very high quality. Everything is put together in an almost genius way, but it never is difficult. The Departure is an exciting album that is addictive. Give it a chance, but don’t complain afterwards if you keep on listening to it, as you’ve been warned.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2016


NL

Liefhebbers van progrock zullen wellicht bands als Oceansize, Naive en Palms kennen. Net zoals zij, maakt ook Atmospheres sfeerrijke postrock/progrock. In 2012 startte deze Belgische band als een eenmansproject, maar hij is sinds een tijdje uitgegroeid tot een vierkoppige band. De muziek bevat boeiende en complexe arrangementen die worden gekenmerkt door crunchy gitaren, melodieuze geluidsdekens en synths die voor wat extra sfeer zorgen.

Het album klinkt kosmisch en als je de thema’s kent, is dat allesbehalve verwonderlijk. Een mooi voorbeeld is The Farthest Star waarin halverwege het nummer de synths voor een kosmisch gevoel zorgen. Voorts horen we een emotionele zang, een leuke bas, alsook een drum en een gitaar die hun plicht vervullen. The Void gaat in de richting van ambient uit.

Into Orbit start met galmende gitaarklanken die eigenlijk uit het instrument van The Edge konden komen. Daarna krijgen we nog wat progrock met brekende ritmes en een vette bas. Tien tracks die je op een boeiende ruimtetrip meenemen.

Je zal waarschijnlijk al hebben gemerkt dat we over een release van zeer hoog niveau schrijven. Alles zit vernuftig in elkaar zonder dat het te moeilijk wordt om te volgen. The Departure is dan ook een boeiend album met veel zin voor detail, dat enorm verslavend werkt. Een kans geven zou ik zeggen, maar kom achteraf niet klagen dat je er blijft naar luisteren. Je was gewaarschuwd.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2016


12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure 12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
08
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic