tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/05/2014 : AVATAR - Hail The Apocalypse

AVATAR

Hail The Apocalypse

MusicCD
GrungeHard RockHeavy MetalStonerock

[94/100]   

Gain Music
23/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Once again I got attracted by the artwork and once I started listening to the music I simply couldn't stop and because of that it was pretty hard to focus on the review; as I simply had too much fun with this one!

'Hail The Apocalypse' starts with a real show off: great sound, great Soulfy versus System of A Dawn, Clawfinger & Korn musical mix, roaring bass play, technical super lead guitar play and so much more! 'What I Don't Know' starts with a funny sound & funny vocals before it gets on fire. Love the sound and the pretty funky disco side-kick. A great title track is 'Death of Sound' which gets the needed agressivity! Strangely enough the vocals are clean and sound very melancholic (despite some screaming and grunting backings). The drums are by moments on fire, but nicely mixed into the background. 'Vultures Fly' sounds like a mix between Crematory, Clawfinger & Iron Maiden (the electronics and the vocals mixed with great metal) and it's a great switch of sound! 'Bloody Angel' is a bomb! Love the very sensitive start! Yet another change of mood & sound: more melancholic & with a clean voice leading the song! The grunting and raging is perfect as extra, just as the little choir & church bells in the end. 'Murderer' starts with the bass leading and a voice that reminds me a bit of Marilyn Manson. Love the brutal vocal explosion, the hammering guitars and the brutal sound! 'Tsar Bomba' is sung in German and sounds very aggressive, loaded with anger and rage. I see this one as the metal version of Suicide Commando (check it out if you don't know this band). Love the solo halfway the song! 'Puppet Show' is a nice gimmick with a very funny sound. Reminds me somehow of the Soviet Times. I'm not sure on how the fans will react if they play this one live on stage! Nice circus orgue and trumpet (or is it a trombone?). The 'lalalala' gives it a bit of a Russian party song. 'Get in Line' throws a bomb, like System of a Dawn does it! You can call it a fuelled song with roaring and hammering guitars! This one could also be the new hit of Channel Zero! Something completely different comes with 'Something in the Way', yesss: it's the song from Nirvana! It takes a lot of nerves to record this one and not fail! This version has harder guitars, the end is a bit brutal, but for the rest I can say I loved this version! 'Tower' is the last track and has lots of electronics in it, gets a more melancholic vocal play and less guitars (but they still play an important role). Love the sensitive sound of this track, just as the backings giving it a weeping sound.

My conclusion: This band serves a lot of different tracks, great variation and has great powers in it! The vocals are really stylish, melancholic; powerful... everything that I want to get is here! So, what are you waiting for?

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/05/2014


 

Next reviews
DOUGLAS AARNIOKOSKI • Nurse 3D
CLICK CLICK • Those Nervous Surgeons
SPENCER MOODY • SINGLE CAR ACIDENT
ROMAN POLANSKI • Venus In Fur
BLACK ANVIL • Hail Death
STILLE VOLK • La Peira Negra
JOSS WHEDON • Much ado about nothing
YOLANDE MOREAU • Henri
CODY CAMERON & KRIS PEARN • Cloudy with a chance of meatballs 2
BLOODY HAMMERS • Under Satan's Sun

 

Same genre: GRUNGE
L7 • Scatter The Rats
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
SO PITTED • Neo
BLISSARD • Blissard
DOWNERS • Noose (EP)
TRACER • Water For Thirsty Dogs
CANDLEBAGS • Love Kills (ep)
DRY CAN • Meanwhile

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My