tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/09/2013 : BABEL 17 - Leviathan

BABEL 17

Leviathan

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark PopDeath Rock / BatcaveDreampopNew wavePost Punk

[72/100]   

Infrastition
28/09/2013, Didier BECU

They'll probably be never huge, but in my book they are (kind of). And I guess not only in mine as Babel 17 is a band which is "known" by a handful of people. Not because they're snobs (even if you'll find some) but just because these people are having the luck to know that this band is making excellent pop wave.

Just like their country mates Asylum Party and Little Nemo, Babel 17 were lucky to be picked up by a tiny (but oh so brilliant!) label named Lively Art, home of excellent French wave. Years later, almost no one remember that but despite the lack of success they're still around and this time (it's all so logic!) they're picked up by another tiny French label that gathers the best from the country of the Eiffel-tower: Infrastition.

Leviathan is the fourth album made by Babel 17. At the end it's difficult to describe this pagan gothwave. You might hear echoes from Virgin Prunes to Play Dead but at the end of the day you heard ten tracks which were composed like its still 1986. There's indeed nothing new under the sun but in their case that's only a godsend as they're one of the last crusaders of quality gothrockwave or whatever. So yes, quite recommended.

Didier BECU
28/09/2013


 

Next reviews
DISKONNEKTED • Radio Existence EP
DI*OVE • DI*ODE
FRANK DARABONT • The Walking Dead Season 3
FRUSTRATION & JESSICA 93 • Review of the concert at Atelier 210 in Brussels on 20 September 2013
THE SHAKING SENSATIONS • Start Stop Worrying
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber
WIRE, MUM, WOLF EYES & ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • Review of the concert at American Theater (AB) in Brussels on 21 September 2013
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
BEAST • Dead or Alive
DALAPLAN

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)