tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

03/07/2011 : BEE MASK - Elegy For Beach Friday

BEE MASK

Elegy For Beach Friday

MusicVinyl
AmbientExperimentalUnclassifiable

[62/100]   
03/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Welcome to the world of abstract sounds. You know the type of music that depends on the mood you’re in, the sort of music that people will wonder if it’s actually music or not?

Whatever the answer might be, it’s still true that the music being composed by Chris Madak aka Bee Mask isn’t the easiest you can think of in this genre, and still it’s a very listenable work!

This album is released on double vinyl and only spawns recordings made between 2003 and 2010.

This “Elegy For Beach Friday” is considered a personal collection of his own highlights that were released earlier on CD-R’s and tapes.

The music from Bee Mask feels like you’re sucked into a cycle of haunting sounds that are inspired by industrial, new age, electro-acoustic and ambient atmospheres.

However much of a cliché it might be(but then again it's the clichés that bear the most truth?), this release reminded me of what Brian Eno once composed for airports.

So yes it’s a good release but an easy one, it ain’t!

 

Didier BECU
03/07/2011


NL

Wees welkom in de wondere wereld van de abstracte geluiden. Het soort muziek dat afhangt van de bui waarin je verkeert, het soort klanken waarbij God en alleman je vraagt of je zoiets nog als muziek kan omschrijven. Een vraag die je best beantwoordt door eerst de definitie van muziek te gaan omschrijven, want wat maakt nu iets muziek? Vrolijkheid, melancholie, meefluitbaarheid, verkoopbaarheid...uw smaak?

Wat ook het antwoord mogen wezen is het wel zo dat de muziek van Chris Madak aka Bee Mask niet bepaald het makkelijkste is uit het genre, ook al blijft het steeds luisterbaar.

Deze release werd uitgebracht op dubbel vinyl en omspant diens werk van 2003 tot 2010.

 “Elegy for beach Friday” mag je eigenlijk als Chris’ selectie beschouwen uit een muziekcarrière die vooral uit tapes en CD-R’s bestaat.

Hoe moeilijk het ook blijft om dit soort dingen onder woorden te brengen zou je kunnen stellen dat Bee Mask je in een mix van industrial, new age, electro-acoustic en ambient omhult.

Clichés gebruiken mag dan wel flauw zijn, het blijft echter zo dat het de clichés zijn die de waarheid eer aandoen en daarom kunnen we niet anders dan er aan toevoegen dat dit bij momenten de muziek benadert die Brian Eno ooit voor luchthavens componeerde.

Is het nu een goede plaat? Jawel, maar verre van een makkelijke!

 

Didier BECU
03/07/2011


 

Next reviews
SLEEPWALK • Revenge of the Lost
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
5 F-X • Flight recorder 5.0
IKON • Flowers for the gathering
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Surveillance culture

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret