tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/12/2015 : BEGIN SAYS - Printed & Lost 1983-1991

BEGIN SAYS

Printed & Lost 1983-1991

MusicCD
Avant-gardeExperimentalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[74/100]   

Infrastition
07/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Since many years Infrastition has become the home label for obscure French wavepop and post-punk. Recently the label released the poppy sounds of the Indochine-like Garçons Coiffeurs, but Begin Says is quite different. This group, which was founded in Paris in 1983, can best be described as avant-garde new wave with violins and clarinets. It may sound as an odd combination, but do not forget that Tuxedomoon was popular in those years and also made such music!

Maybe 35 songs (including a video) is a bit too much, but with this double CD you get all the original recordings that are almost impossible to find (or simply not released, because the second disc The Lost Album contains eight lost demo recordings between 1990 and 1991). These songs were supposed to appear on a record that would be the successor of the 1989 album Under The Palm Trees on Polydor. Begin Says surely sounds more experimental in the early days. However, the band members never forget emotion as a lot of the new wave songs crawl under the skin. It is difficult to stick a style on this band. Sometimes it's post-punk like Bauhaus or their compatriots Marquis De Sade and KaS Product. But it can also be avant-garde as on Crammed Discs or Sub Rosa. And in addition, some songs refer to the Neue Deutsche Welle.

Begin Says was "known" among the wave fans for the songs that were on the Essai compilation (a collector that is released on Facteurs d'Ambiance and features gods of the minimal scene like Martin Dupont and L'Enfance Eternelle). These songs are also included.

It seems a bit presumptuous to say, but Begin Says focuses on the music fan with a good taste, who is not afraid of experiment. Peek-A-Boo readers, so to speak!

Didier BECU
07/12/2015


NL

Infrastition is al sinds jaren het vertrouwde platenhuis van obscure Franse wavepop en consoorten. Onlangs verschenen op dit label de poppy klanken van de Indochine-achtige Garçons Coiffeurs, maar Begin Says is toch wel andere koek. Deze groep zag het levenslicht in Parijs in 12983 en kan je het beste omschrijven als avant-garde new wave met violen en klarinetten. Het klinkt misschien als een vreemde combinatie, maar vergeet toch niet dat Tuxedomoon die toen populair was, ook zo’n muziek maakte!

Misschien schaadt overdaad, want op deze dubbel-cd vind je 35 nummers (en zelfs een videoclip) die het volledige repertoire van deze Fransen bevat. Naar de originele opnames ga je maar beter niet op zoek, want die zijn zo goed als onvindbaar (of vaak niet eens uitgebracht, want het tweede schijfje, The Lost Album, bevat acht verloren gewaande demo-opnames uit 1990 en 1991). Deze plaat moest de opvolger worden van de in 1989 uitgebrachte lp Under The Palm Trees op Polydor. Ook deze plaat vind je integraal terug op deze dubbellaar en het is duidelijk dat Begin Says in z'n begindagen heel wat experimenteler klonk. Wel verloren de band daarbij nooit de emoties uit het oog, heel wat van de new wavenummers kruipen dan ook onder de huid. Het is moeilijk om een etiket te kleven op deze band. Soms is het heerlijke postpunk die je met Bauhaus of landgenoten Marquis De Sade en KaS Product kan vergelijken. Maar het kan evengoed avant garde zijn zoals men dat destijds op labels als Crammed Discs of Sub Rosa kon vinden, en alsof dat nog niet genoeg is, refereren heel wat tracks aan de Neue Deutsche Welle, waarin blijkbaar steeds medelijden met het trieste lot van de arbeider aan bod komt.

Begin Says was vooral bij de wavefans “bekend” voor de nummers die op de compilatie Essai stonden (een zeer gezochte plaat die destijds op Facteurs d’Ambiance verscheen en waarop ook de goden uit de minimal scène zoals Martin Dupont en L’Enfance Eternelle zijn vertegenwoordigd). Ook deze nummers vind je hier terug.

Het lijkt wat verwaand om het te zeggen, maar Begin Says is vooral gericht op de muziekliefhebber met de betere smaak die niet vies is van een vleugje experiment. Peek-A-Boo lezers dus!

Didier BECU
07/12/2015


 

Next reviews
DOUBLE ECHO • La Danza
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
WILDNORTHE • Awe
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
GARADH • Need A Change
QUEEN KWONG, LUSHES • Ghent, De Charlatan (05/12/2015)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace