tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

26/02/2013 : BEMYDELAY - Hazy Lights

BEMYDELAY

Hazy Lights

MusicVinyl
DroneIndieSinger Songwriter

[81/100]   

Boring Machines
26/02/2013, Didier BECU

People who are following the Italian undergroundscene might have heard the name of Marcella Riccardi, and if not perhaps her band Blake/e/e/e. If it still doesn’t ring a bell, then there’s still a second chance with her soloproject BeMyDelay (in one word that is).

The first album from BeMyDelay was released in 2011 on Italian label Boring Machines and it was described by yours truly as a wonderful trip that everyone should make (at least once) in his lifetime. Two years later her second album (on vinyl) lands on my desk and once again I’m in love after a couple of seconds. Her voice is far from being perfect, but just like Catpower Marcella knows how to handle the right tricks to touch her listener.

I Feared The Fury Of My Wind is perhaps not the strongest track to start an album, but you’ll hear immediately that Hazy Lights will be a very special album. You Are My Sunshine is altcountry like only Lambchop can make, while Ocean Drive has some lovely drones as well.

Roses And Snow is probably the best track on this wonderful album just because it’s the kind of song you wish a woman would sing for you.

Hazy Lights is a magnificent second attempt from a well skilled musician who wants to reach the bottom of our hearts. She doesn’t need an orchestra as a simple string or a guitar is more than enough. Another winner from a musician you should give a change. A Kate Bush for the dronegeneration!

Didier BECU
26/02/2013


 

Next reviews
HALO EFFECT • Recoding _
CONTREJOUR • Passion/Fall
GLIS • PHOENIX
MY DEAR KILLER • The Electric Dragon Of Venus
PARADE GROUND • A ROOM WITH A VIEW
BARRY BATTLES • The Baytown Outlaws
NORTHERN SADNESS • FEAR TO SEE
DU CHAMP • Nar
HOUSE OF LOVE • She paints words in red
WOODY ALLEN • To Rome With Love

 

Other reviews from BEMYDELAY
BEMYDELAY • Totheotherside

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)
12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth