tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/10/2012 : BEN LUKAS BOYSEN - Restive

BEN LUKAS BOYSEN

Restive

MusicCD
AmbientClassicalIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[90/100]   

Hymen Records
06/10/2012, Chris KONINGS

Still finding the time to make music under his own name, Ben Lukas Boysen (HECQ) delivers his first real soundtrack with Restive. After his trip towards dubstep (Avenger), which was received with mixed feelings but in my opinion a pretty good album, he seems to have found a direction he can call his home. You will soon read more on that in an interview I did with him...

First things first, what's the movie about? Restive is a hopeless exploration of domestic violence. After challenging her husband, the mother commits her family to a journey through the nearby woods. The husband's friends try to capture the mother, resulting in a bizarre and violent finale.

The intens and weird storyline might suggest that musical expression is also exaggerated, but Ben holds a tight reign. All sounds are placed in such a clinical and precise way, ensuring a chilling atmosphere, perfectly achieving it's goal. "Sorry" sounds a bit like the repetitive remoteness of Wim Mertens, "Hoe Fight" is insanely brutal and terrifying, like good old Genocide Organ industrial. "Lott", "Hopper" or "Grave" are chilling nightmares that seem to come right out of "The Shining". So when I say, a tight reign, you might have thought it's absent, detached music. But then you don't know Ben, it simply is impossible for him to make music without digging deep inside his psyche, and in the meantime, turning your psyche upside down.

Together with Access To Arasaka's "Orbitus" and Flint Glass/Polarlicht 4.1's "Zoran's Equation", this must be one of the best soundtrack I have ever heard... Beautiful and terrible, stronger than the foundations... No wait, that's a different movie.

Ben Lukas Boysen

Hymen Records

Chris KONINGS
06/10/2012


 

Next reviews
OBVERSE REALITY • The Future Ended... Today
HERZPARASIT • Fromme Lämmer
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Restart
SOHO PREACHERS • Wake Up
WOVEN HAND • Review of the concert at EDEN in Charleroi on 28th September 2012
ORGANIC • Graham Coxon + Organic
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • A nice place to destroy (EP)
SATURMZLIDE • BeVor
IMPAKT! • Imperia
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012

 

Other reviews from BEN LUKAS BOYSEN
BEN LUKAS BOYSEN • Gravity

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)