tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

04/06/2014 : BERNARD ROSE - Sxtape

BERNARD ROSE

Sxtape

Movie
Horror

[50/100]   

A-Film
04/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We already told it and probably will repeat it, but if you want to gain some money in movies you better shoot one with a handcamera, at least as long if people are visiting it at the theatres! Since the creators from The Blair Witch Project have become rich with a minimum of investments, every filmmaker is dreaming that one day this will happen to him as well. That’s probably what went through Bernard Rose’s mind too. That’s kind of weird if you know that this American made twenty years ago the classic Candyman. Today he can’t even convince the pulp lovers. For his newest production Sxtape (dumb name, indeed!) he got the help from Steven Schneider who happens to be the producer of the Paranormal Activity-films. Such a duo would normally be able to make fireworks, but this movie seems more like a first attempt from an enthusiastic horrorfan who is trying to make his first gore feature.


The two didn’t even try to make an original script as the story is all by all very predictable. Adam (Ian Duncan) and Jill (Caitlyn Folley) are two extravagant youngsters who like to do what others don’t. The couple want to record a sextape. On their route they find an abandoned asylum. Quite soon after they discover that lots of things have happened in the building that are better kept secret. Adam begs his lover to leave the dangerous place, but the courageous Jill refuses. And yes, soon after the first ghost appears!


Let us be honest: there’s not one movie buff around who will consider Sxtape as good. Technically seen he’s not, not in the least because the makers are using too much dirty talk to uplift the entertaining factor, don’t forget this movie is about a sextape! Anyway, the director has succeed in taking the viewer on an exciting trip that doesn’t bore one minute, and that’s not something that can be said about lots of serious stuff that’s been praised by “serious” critics, not? Having said that, it’d be a good idea if they would have made this an orgy tape as after 80 minutes we are getting a bit bored of Caitlyn Folley’s pretty face.


Is Sxtape a good film? Not at all, but funny nonetheless. Out now on A-Film on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
04/06/2014


NL

We hebben het al meer dan één keer gezegd, maar niets is zo winstgevend dan een prent maken met een handcamera (ten minste als er volk naar de zalen komt!) Sinds de makers van The Blair Witch Project met een minimum aan investeringen stinkend rijk zijn geworden, droomt iedere filmer wel dat hem zoiets kan overkomen. Dat moet ook Bernard Rose hebben gedacht. Vreemd, want twintig jaar geleden veroverde deze Amerikaan nog de horrorwereld door zijn klassieker Candyman, maar vandaag kan hij amper de pulpliefhebber aanspreken. Voor Sxtape (een domme naam, inderdaad!) kreeg hij de hulp van Steven Schneider, en laat dat nou de producer van de Paranormal Activity-films zijn. Zo’n duo zou eigenlijk voor vuurwerk moeten zorgen, maar helaas is deze bibberprent eerder een (leuke) vingeroefening van een enthousiaste filmmaker die zijn eerste schreden in het horrorgenre zet.


De twee hebben ook niet bepaald moeite gedaan om met deze film enigszins origineel uit de hoek te laten komen, want het script is zeer voorspelbaar. Adam (Ian Duncan) en Jill (Caitlyn Folley) zijn twee extravagante twintigers die graag iets uithalen wat anderen niet doen. Het koppel wil met hun eigen camera een sextape opnemen. Dit brengt hun naar één of ander afgelegen psychiatrisch ziekenhuis. Al gauw merken de twee tortelduifjes dat er in het verleden daar heel wat gebeurtenissen hebben plaats gegrepen die beter niet aan het daglicht komen. Adam smeekt zijn geliefde om de angstaanjagende plaats te verlaten, maar de moedige Jill zet door. En jawel, al snel laat de rest zich raden, want de eerste geest duikt op.


Laten we eerlijk en wel wezen: er is geen enkele cinefiel die ooit zal (durft) beweren dat Sxtape een geslaagde film is. Technisch bekeken is hij dat ook niet, en ook beroepen de makers zich net iets te veel op goedkope vuilbekkerij (het gaat ten slotte om een sextape!) Wel voert de maker je 80 minuten mee in een mysterie dat op bepaalde momenten zowel grappig als spannend is. Je hebt het natuurlijk al eerder (en beter) gezien, toch verveelt deze prent geen seconde en dat kun je niet bepaald van alle werken zeggen die door “serieuze” critici worden aangeprezen. Misschien was het wel beter om er meteen een orgietape van te maken want na anderhalf uur gaat het knappe snoetje van Caitlyn Folley toch wat vervelen.


Is Sxtape nu een goede film? Helemaal niet, maar toch best leuk. Nu uit op A-Film en dit op dvd en Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
04/06/2014


04/06/2014 : BERNARD ROSE - Sxtape 04/06/2014 : BERNARD ROSE - Sxtape 04/06/2014 : BERNARD ROSE - Sxtape 04/06/2014 : BERNARD ROSE - Sxtape 04/06/2014 : BERNARD ROSE - Sxtape 04/06/2014 : BERNARD ROSE - Sxtape 04/06/2014 : BERNARD ROSE - Sxtape 04/06/2014 : BERNARD ROSE - Sxtape

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn