tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : BIG HARE - Hasyayoga

BIG HARE

Hasyayoga

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalFunk/SoulPost Punk

[74/100]   

Blowpipe Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Dutch musicians Fraanje and Ottenhof won’t get rich with Big Hare, but at least they do something unusual. The band's name came about while the two studied a bottle of shampoo (big hair, if you understand the point). Some music was played in an empty squat in Utrecht (a building of the former Psychoanalytic Institute), which is now elaborated on the debut album Hasyayoga.

The cover tells exactly what you can expect: cut and paste with music, complemented with a generous portion of Dadaism. Not one track on this CD follows the classic pattern of a song. Everything is possible, nothing is necessary. The compositions are experimental without being elitist, because even if the due refuses to do any concessions, the music always will make your hips swing. Sometimes it’s funny, sometimes it’s just sheer nonsense.

If you want to compare Big Hare with any band, take Talking Heads as a reference, complemented with the sounds Brian Eno made during Before And After Science. Talking about good names!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Rijk of beroemd zullen de Nederlanders Fraanje en Ottenhof met Big Hare niet worden, maar opvallen doen ze des te meer. De bandnaam ontstond nadat de twee een flesje shampoo bestudeerden (big hair, snap je hem?). Er werd wat muziek gespeeld in een leegstaand kraakpand in Utrecht, een gebouw waar trouwens ooit het Psychoanalytische Instituut was gehuisvest. Deze muzikale stukjes zijn nu uitgewerkt op hun debuutplaat Hasyayoga.

Het hoesje toont mooi wat je mag verwachten: knip- en plakwerk, aangevuld met een flinke portie Dadaïsme. Er is geen track op deze cd die het klassieke patroon van een lied volgt. Alles kan, maar niets moet. De composities zijn experimenteel zonder dat het ooit (te) elitair wordt, want hoe weinig toegevingen ze ook doen, blijft het wel heupwiegende muziek. Soms grappig, soms pure nonsens.

Hoe moeilijk het ook is, als je Big Hare dan toch met een band moet vergelijken, doe het dan met Talking Heads, aangevuld met wat Brian Eno deed tijdens Before And After Science. Als dat geen goede referenties zijn!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EPHYRA • Along The Path
ILL WICKER • Untamed
AMON AMARTH • Jomsviking
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • Brussels, AB (20/03/16)
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE KVB • Of Desire
SO PITTED • Neo
DMX KREW • You Exist

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: FUNK/SOUL
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
CROOKED MAN • Crooked Man
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
AURRA • Body Rock
MARCUS MILLER • Het Depot, Leuven (07/04/2016)
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
PURE BEAUTY • Pure Beauty (EP)
ABRAXAS • Totem

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo