tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

29/09/2017 : BLACK NEEDLE NOISE - Lost In Reflections

BLACK NEEDLE NOISE

Lost In Reflections

MusicDigital
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesIndietronicaSoundscape

[95/100]   

Self-released
29/09/2017, Marija BULJETA

The second Black Needle Noise full length album, Lost In Reflections, has just been released, exactly one year after the first one, Before The Tears Came. During that year John Fryer was busy collaborating with amazing artists on the new BNN singles which he has now compiled in an album format.
Lost In Reflections consists of 11 tracks, the first of which, was released in July 2016, “Treasured Lies”, featuring a Norwegian singer and songwriter ZiaLand. What we should have expected from BNN new album this track has already delivered. John Fryer continues to astound us with the powerful musical theme and the striking refrain, while preserving the atmospheric and ethereal feel that makes his work recognisable. While ZiaLand delivers the strong vocal performance, the second track “Warning Sign” with Kendra Frost delivers more delicate atmosphere. The track is floaty and light. The idea of John’s sublime soundscapes combined with Kendra’s angelic voice makes this piece a perfect track for a daydream. But don’t drift away, there are some catchy moments that BNN can offer. They come with the very next track, “She Stands On A Storm”. Although the introduction may sound innocent and mysterious, the punchy and impressive refrain will stir things up. Andrea Kerr is doing a great job with her vocal interpretation, shifting from almost whispering to a more striking performance. Distinguishable soundscapes colour the next tracks: “Heaven” with Jennie Vee, “This Kind Of Road” with Kendra Frost and “Teeth To Grey” with Omniflux.
One of the tracks that undoubtedly caught my attention was “Swimming Through Dreams” featuring Mimi Page. This song takes the words “ethereal” and “soundscapes” to the next level. Listening to the collaboration of John and Mimi evokes a dreamlike state; it’s almost a surreal, mystical, otherwordly and supernatural sound experience. I feel that they have really wanted to give us something we haven’t heard before and I am very sure that we haven’t heard it. “And Nothing Remains” with Ana Breton is another song really high on my top list. It is one more elegant and sophisticated piece, rich in delightful melody and arrangements. After eight tracks featuring female artists, the sequence is broken by the vocal of Bill Leeb of Front Line Assembly and Delerium. “A Shiver Of Want” is noisy, darkly painted and heavier than the previous tracks, but the song is nonetheless soothing and comforting.
It’s absolutely impossible to have a favourite BNN track, since each song tells a story of its own. However, when I first heard “Breathless Speechless” with Sivert Høyem, I was indeed speechless. The seductive and captivating sounds intertwine with Sivert’s deep and sensual vocal. A perfect combination for this deeply atmospheric track.
John Fryer closes the amazing chapter of this emotional musical journey with the “Neon Noir”. The piece was a welcome surprise to my ears, heart and mind. I haven’t had the opportunity to hear the track until now, and I was really happy listening to this electronic poppy and vibrating number at the very end. Is this the direction John will keep? He will leave us guessing but hopefully not for long. There are no rules, no boundaries, no limits to his imaginative and inspired mind. And all you ever wanted to know about John and his world of art is here, at the reach of your hands or ears; you do not need to look further.
Thank you, John and all the brilliant artists who contributed to this release, for being part of our lives. Your work speaks volumes.

Marija BULJETA
29/09/2017


 

Next reviews
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
OMD • The Punishment Of Luxury
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
CULT WITH NO NAME • Heir Of The Dog
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPARKS • Hippopotamus
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland

 

Other reviews from BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Before The Tears

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger

 

Same genre: INDIETRONICA
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
POOLSIDE ECHO • We Will Grow
CHVRCHES • Every Open Eye

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
08
AMMO
Rose + Crown
05
08
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us