tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : BLACKWOOD - As the World Rots Away

BLACKWOOD

As the World Rots Away

MusicCD
Black MetalDoomDrone

[80/100]   

Subsound Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The album starts with Breaking God 'Spine: pretty grim and it sounds like a trailer for a horror movie. The tone is set for the rest of the album. The album is like a black metal/doom album, mainly with guitars, industrial, slow beats and synth sounds.

The song are mainly vocal sample and they have some drone elements along with the aforementioned characteristics which provide a dark, scary and alienated atmosphere. Let this be the things that appeal to me!

All of this is spread over forty minutes in the form of six tracks. But you could also call it one long trip. Sodom has a fantastic intro. On the last song Unrecoverable Mistakes, Blackwood replaces the lead guitar with a piano. This is a successful alternation in which he manages to maintain the dark atmosphere. I would even say he should do this more because it brings more variety in the tracks.

About the Italian Blackwood, I only know that Eraldo Bernocchi is behind this project. The skull that emerge from the tree roots on the cover, is the work of Petulia Mattioli. It perfectly expresses the mood of the music. For those who love desolation, death and destruction in the form of songs, this is a very fine release.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Het album start met Breaking God’ Spine: vrij duister en het klinkt als een trailer voor een horrorfilm. De toon is meteen gezet voor de rest van het album. Het album klinkt een beetje als een black metal/doomalbum, maar dan hoofdzakelijk met gitaren, industrial, trage beats en synthsounds. De zang bestaat voornamelijk uit vocale samples, de songs hebben wat drone-elementen die samen met eerder genoemde karakteristieken zorgen voor een donkere, enge en vervreemdende sfeer. Laat dit nu net elementen zijn die mij bij momenten aanspreken.

Dit alles is uitgesmeerd over veertig minuten muziek in de vorm van zes tracks. Maar je zou het ook wel als één lange trip kunnen beschouwen. Sodom heeft een fantastische intro: een heel mooie synthsound die het geheel op gang trekt. Op de afsluiter Unrecoverable Mistakes laat Blackwood de loden gitaren even achterwege en ruilt ze in voor piano. Men slaagt er mooi in om de donkere sfeer te behouden. Ik zou zelfs meer zeggen: hij zou dit wat meer mogen doen omdat het meer variatie in de tracks brengt.

Over het Italiaanse Blackwood kan ik niet veel meer vertellen dan dat het een zekere Eraldo Bernocchi is die achter dit project zit. De schedel die uit boomwortels tevoorschijn komt op de hoes, is het werk van Petulia Mattioli en vind ik erg geslaagd: de sfeer van de muziek woredt uitstekend uitgedrukt. Voor wie houdt van troosteloosheid, dood en verderf in de vorm van songs, is dit een heel fijne release.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
TANZ OHNE MUSIK • Infinity
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMON JONES (AND ALSO THE TREES) • Ten Albums That changed My Life
W-FESTIVAL • Wortegem-Petegem (23/08/2016)
DEAD SKELELETONS • Live in Berlin
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
LANA JASTREVSKI (POPSIMONOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CRYSTAL CASTLES • Amnesty (I)

 

Same genre: BLACK METAL
KRALLICE • Mass Cathexis
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
DOMINANZ • Noxious
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
MIGHTIEST • Sinisterra
DALLA NEBBIA • Felix Culpa
DRACONIAN • Sovran

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
TANGLED THOUGHTS OF LEAVING • Yield To Despair

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My