tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd single review

13/11/2018 : BROKEN EGO - Getting Higher

BROKEN EGO

Getting Higher

MusicCD single
Electro PopElectro Rock

[75/100]   

Echozone
13/11/2018, Kevin BURKE

There is still the tongue-in-cheek element in rock music which makes it both fun and listenable, what is presented here in the latest Broken Ego single “Getting Higher” is the mixtures of good old 70s Glam-Rock with the heavy synth of the 80s under the spell of ‘noughties’ Brit-Pop, all good fun in the serious world in which we exist at the same time there is something very familiar here which and at times is what we look for.

The four-piece band from Vienna, Austria have shed their dark, gothic image which surrounded them early on in their career and have traded up for a more sparkling image, in frontman Chris Ego they have the perfect vehicle to start hammering at the door of commercial acceptance.

This is however a good time Saturday night track, not outstandingly original in construction but glides by with hand claps which trigger a toe tapping pleasure, if this is a taste of their next long-player ‘Avenue To Wonderland’ then we are in for a very interesting ride with this band.

Kevin BURKE
13/11/2018


 

Next reviews
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
HATCHLING • Alpha
THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL • Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
WHISPERING SONS • Image

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + ELECTRO ROCK
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
TENEK • Smoke & Mirrors
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
JOHN FOXX • The Virgin Years 1981-1985 Box set
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
PIG • The Gospel

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything