tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

02/12/2015 : BRUISING - Emo Friends/Honey (Single)

BRUISING

Emo Friends/Honey (Single)

MusicVinyl
DreampopRock

[80/100]   

Beach Coma
02/12/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Beach Coma releases the first single of Bruising, a duo that was formed about a year ago by Naomi Bagluley and Ben Lewis. This is their first production, an AA single with two compositions.

Dream pop is perhaps the best description for what Bruising has to offer. Naomi Buaguley has a velvety voice and Ben Lewis creates a firm Pixies-esque guitar sound allowing Emo Friends to become a lot more dangerous than you might suspect. Initially, Naomi’s beautiful voice dominates the soundscape in a nice and bouncy melody, but then heavy guitars resound to provide a firm basis for the dreamy and sweet vocals. The warm guitar sound is slightly distorted, later it sounds sharper, more layered and quite a lot darker. A heavenly track.

Honey is the rerecording of a demo track and the first song written by Naomi and Ben: a bedroom demo that has been upgraded to a pop-punk ballad. Again pure dream pop with an edge, because Lewis' guitar sounds naive, low-key but not harmless, then pushy, loud and squeaky. Naomi Baguley’s vocals provide the song with an almost fairytale atmosphere.

The track are quiet similar to each other, but the strong melodies are attractive, with different and beautiful guitar playing, combined with a wonderful, warm and captivating voice.

Tracklisting:
1 Emo Friends
2 Honey

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXwjXTR6fKc
http://beechcoma.com

William LIÉNARD
02/12/2015


NL

Beech Coma gooit de eerste single van Bruising op de markt, een duo dat nauwelijks een jaar geleden het daglicht zag, maar voor Naomi Bagluley en Ben Lewsis is dat geen bezwaar om er met volle kracht tegenaan te gaan en dat maken ze duidelijk op deze AA-single die twee composities bevat.

Dreampop is wellicht de beste omschrijving voor wat Bruising te bieden heeft. Naomi Buaguley heeft een fluwelen stem, maar Ben Lewis zorgt voor en stevig Pixies-achtig gitaargeluid waardoor Emo Friends een stuk gevaarlijker is dan je zou vermoeden. Aanvankelijk houdt Lewis het vrij rustig en geeft hij de prachtige stem van Naomi de vrije baan op een prettig huppelende melodie, maar dat duurt maar even, want vervolgens rolt stevig gitaargeluid uit de boxen dat de dromerige en lieflijke vocalen van een stevige onderlaag voorziet. Aanvankelijk is het warme gitaargeluid lichtjes distorted, vervolgens klinkt het scherper, gelaagder en een flink stuk donkerder. Een hemelse track.

Honey is de rerecording van een demotrack van Bruising en tegelijk is het de eerste song die Naoli en Ben samen schreven: een slaapkamerdemo die is opgewaardeerd tot een pop-punkballade. Opnieuw pure dreampop met een scherp kantje, want Lewis’ gitaar klinkt naïef, ingehouden en ongevaarlijk en vervolgens drammerig, luid en piepend. De vocalen van Naomi Baguley wikkelen de song opnieuw in een bijna sprookjesachtige sfeer.

De tracks wijken qua geluid misschien niet erg veel van elkaar af, maar de stevige melodieën zijn aanstekelijk en zeer verschillend en het mooie gitaarspel, gecombineerd met een prachtige en warme vrouwenstem, bekoort ons heel erg.

William LIÉNARD
02/12/2015


Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret