tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima

CARL FRANKLIN

Bless me, Ultima

Movie
World Cinema

[61/100]   

SONY SPHE
10/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe it seems strange that a movie like Bless Me,Ultima has been released on Sony. You don't identify such a major with world cinema that deals about spirituality, but that has a lot to do with Christy Walton who is famous in America because of the Wal-Mart-chain. Christy was so fascinated by the novel from Rudolfo Anaya that she financed the whole project. The makers had a huge freedom. They were allowed to work with a cast of unknowns and it was no problem either that the movie had an alternative look.


The story is set in New Mexico during the 40's and is narrated by the young Antonio Marez (Luke Ganalon). His three brothers are fighting at the front. He's not alone as the old Ultima (Miriam Colon) joins the family. This old lady is a very strange one though. She has powers that can heal sick people, therefore some think Ultima is a witch. Whatever the truth is, Antonio builds up a very strong friendship with her. The curandera introduces him to strong spiritual forces and so the young guy is having doubts about his belief in catholicism.


Just another story that made Christians going awol. Just like some wants to forbid now Noah from Darren Aronofsky, some wanted to ban Rudolfo Anaya's book. Their plan didn't work. Not only became the novel one of the milestones in Chicano literature, it also became a movie. This picture by Carl Franklin is dominated by the breathtaking cinematography by Paula Huidobro and the excellent performances by both Luke Ganalon and Miriam Colon. Due to its subject, Bless Me, Ultima isn't exactly what you would call an easy film to digest. Apart from that, it's a wonderful example that meaningful and different cinema can have its place on a major.


Bless Me,Ultima is released on Sony op DVD.

Didier BECU
10/04/2014


NL

Misschien vind je het vreemd dat een film als Bless Me,Ultima op Sony werd uitgebracht. Het is inderdaad geen alledaags feit dat wereldcinema over spiritualiteit een major haalt, maar dat heeft alles te maken met de steenrijke Christy Walton die in Amerika bekend is van de Wal-Mart-ketens. Christy was zo in de ban van de gelijknamige roman van Rudolfo Anaya dat ze er heel wat geld tegenaan gooide om de verfilming mogelijk te maken. De makers mochten zeer ver gaan. Christy vond het geen probleem dat de cast uit onbekenden bestond, het werd zelfs getolereerd dat de prent alternatieve kantjes vertoonde.


Het verhaal speelt zich af in het New Mexico tijdens de jaren 40 en wordt verteld vanuit het standpunt van de jonge Antonio Marez (Luke Ganalon). Zijn drie oudere broers zijn naar het front getrokken, gelukkig voor hem wordt de eenzaamheid verbroken wanneer Ultima (Miriam Colon) op het familietoneel verschijnt. Deze stokoude vrouw bezit vreemde gaven waardoor zij doodzieke mensen plotseling weer kerngezond kan maken. Sommige dorpelingen vertrouwen het zaakje niet en beschouwen Ultima als een oude heks. De jonge Antonio beleeft een hechte vriendschap met de curandera. De oude vrouw laat hem kennis maken met krachten van de spirituele wereld. Het gevolg daarvan is dat de jonge kerel begint te twijfelen aan zijn eigen katholieke geloof dat er door zijn ouders is ingepompt.


Wederom dus een verhaal dat sommige christenen de gordijnen injaagt. Net zoals sommige moraalridders dat vandaag met Aronofsky's versie van Noah willen, probeerden ook enkele individuen destijds om het boek van Rudolfo Anaya te bannen. Het is hun uiteindelijk niet gelukt, want het boek werd één van de belangrijkste werken uit de Chicano-literatuur en is vandaag zelfs een film geworden. De verfilming van Carl Franklin valt vooral op door de adembenemende fotografie van Paula Huidobro en de schitterende vertolkingen van zowel Luke Ganalon als Miriam Colon. Wegens het onderwerp is Bless Me, Ultima geen gemakkelijke brok geworden, wel een prachtvoorbeeld dat diepgravende cinema ook op een major kan.


Bless Me,Ultima is nu uit via Sony op dvd.

 

Didier BECU
10/04/2014


10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima 10/04/2014 : CARL FRANKLIN - Bless me, Ultima

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall