tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage

CEDRIC KAHN

Vie Sauvage

Movie
Drama

[68/100]   

Lumire
25/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you look at recent titles of French cinema, it seems as if filmmakers have enough inspiration from strange, but real events. Earlier this month there was the bizarre story of a serial killer in Cédric Anger’s La Prochaine Fois Je Viserai Le Coeur, and Vie Sauvage by Cédric Kahn will certainly let countless eyebrows frown. The film is based on the book Hors système: our ans sous l'étoile de la liberté by Okwari, Shahi'Yena and Xavier Fortin. Fortin made between 1997 and 2009 quite a stir when he disappeared with his two children for ten years.

Philippe Fournier (Mathieu Kassovitz), Paco for friends, really has enough of society and its laws. Just about everything that happens around him is at odds with his idea of ​​how the ideal world should look like. His wife Nora (Céline Sallette) can’t live with this green anarchist boy any longer, and she leaves him with her two children. It comes to divorce and Paco may only see his children during the school holidays. During one of those visits he disappears for more than ten years in various communes. During this period there is no trace of Paco and the children.

Kahn got a lot of criticism because he took the side of the father in this film, that is produced by the Dardenne brothers. That might be true, but people sometimes have to learn that movies are indeed the window of our souls, and that there is also something as film itself. If he had followed the mother, than Vie Sauvage would probably have not been no more than an ordinary family drama, while now (thanks to a brilliant Mathieu Kassovitz) it is the story of a man who is totally estranged from this world. Besides, Kahn does not condemn, neither romanticize or idealize wild life. Vie Sauvage is a clever piece of cinema verité with excellent performances.

This tip is now released on DVD Lumière.

Didier BECU
25/03/2015


NL

Als je de recente titels uit de Franse cinema bekijkt, lijkt het wel alsof cineasten meer dan genoeg inspiratie kunnen putten uit vreemde gebeurtenissen uit de realiteit. Eerder deze maand hadden we het bizarre verhaal over een seriemoordenaar in Cédric Angers La Prochaine Fois Je Viserai Le Coeur, en ook Vie Sauvage van Cédric Kahn zal beslist ontelbare wenkbrauwen doen fronzen. De film is gebaseerd op het boek Hors système: onze ans sous l’étoile de la liberté van Okwari, Shahi’Yena en Xavier Fortin. Fortin zorgde tussen 1997 en 2009 voor heel wat ophef door met zijn twee kinderen voor tien jaar te verdwijnen.

Philippe Fournier (Mathieu Kassovitz), Paco voor de vrienden, heeft het echt wel gehad met de maatschappij en haar regels. Zowat alles wat er rondom hem gebeurt strookt niet met zijn idee van hoe de ideale wereld er zou moeten uitzien. Zijn vrouw Nora (Céline Sallette) kan het leven met deze anarchistische groene jongen niet meer aan en samen met haar drie kinderen verlaat ze hem. Het komt tot en echtscheiding en Paco mag alleen maar de kinderen zien tijdens de schoolvakanties. Tijdens één van die bezoeken gaat Paco ervandoor en duikt meer dan tien jaar in allerlei communes onder. In die periode is er geen spoor van Paco en de kinderen te vinden.

Kahn kreeg bakken kritiek omdat hij in deze door de gebroeders Dardenne geproduceerde film, de kant van de vader zou kiezen. Dat is misschien ook zo, maar mensen zouden wel eens moeten leren dat film als raam van onze ziel kan fungeren, maar dat er ook nog zoiets bestaat als film an sich. Indien men de moeder zou volgen, dan zou Vie Sauvage waarschijnlijk niet meer dan een ordinair gezinsdrama zijn geworden, terwijl men nu (onder meer dankzij een briljante Mathieu Kassovitz) het relaas krijgt van een man die totaal vervreemd is van deze wereld. Trouwens, Kahn veroordeelt niet, en hij romantiseert of idealiseert het wilde leven ook niet. Vie Sauvage is een prachtig stukje cinema verité met knappe vertolkingen, of het maatschappelijk verantwoord is of niet,heeft niets met de filmkwaliteit te maken.

Deze aanrader is op Lumière op dvd uitgebracht.

Didier BECU
25/03/2015


25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage 25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage 25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage 25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage 25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage 25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage 25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage 25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage 25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage 25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage 25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage 25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage 25/03/2015 : CEDRIC KAHN - Vie Sauvage

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)