tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

18/11/2015 : CHARNIER - Charnier

CHARNIER

Charnier

MusicCassette
New wave

[76/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
18/11/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

No one can deny it any longer: new wave is back! It was never gone, as those who started the quest eventually found some gems, it was just a bit hidden in the background. Of course there are many new young bands that are trying to find their way with a personal sound, Charnier from Brussels for instance.

I saw them play as support for She Past Away in Brussels and I was surprised by their mix of new wave, some cold wave and some industrial influences. Elements that were also used in the heyday of The Neon Judgement, Siglo XX and even The Cure.

The mini album Charnier is released on cassette by Wool-E-Tapes from Ghent, for the occasion of Cassette Store Day on 17th October 2015. You read that right, this is a cassette, so with the real spirit of the early days of the new wave. The album contains six songs, each with its own character, ranging from post-punk in which the guitars rule, like in the opening song Bodies Flap Out, to doomy cold wave as in Can’t You Remember, with typical synth sounds, and the very danceable new wave track Another Floor. This tape offers you a nice opportunity to hear what you can expect from Charnier. A must for those who love contemporary Belgian new wave.

Ruben SAEY
18/11/2015


NL

Dat new wave weer aan een opmars bezig is, wordt steeds vaker merkbaar. Het is voor wie het wist te vinden nooit echt weg geweest, gewoon wat naar de achtergrond verdwenen. Gelukkig zijn er steeds nieuwe jonge bands die hun weg zoeken met het daarbij horende eigen geluid, zo ook Charnier uit Brussel.

Ik zag ze aan het werk in het voorprogramma van She Past Away in Brussel en was aangenaam verrast door hun mix van new wave, wat cold wave, en hier en daar wat industrial invloeden. Elementen die je ook in de hoogdagen van The Neon Judgement, Siglo XX en zelfs The Cure kon terugvinden.

Het mini-album Charnier is op cassette uitgebracht door het Gentse label Wool-E-Tapes voor de Cassette Store Day op 17 oktober 2015. Je leest het goed, dit is een cassette, dus helemaal naar de geest van de begindagen van de new wave. Het album bevat 6 nummers, elk met hun eigen karakter, gaande van lichte postpunk waarin de gitaren de bovenhand krijgen zoals in het openingsnummer Bodies Flap Out, tot de doomy coldwave van Can’t You Remember met typische synthgeluiden, of gewoon heel dansbare new wave zoals in Another Floor. Een mooie staalkaart van wat je van Charnier mag verwachten, dus. Een aanrader voor wie van eigentijdse Belgische new wave houdt.

Ruben SAEY
18/11/2015


Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party