tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T)

CHOK TOW NATION

(S/T)

MusicCD (EP)
Post Rock

[88/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Rain, rustling, hum and other noises. Slowly, the music comes with bass and synths. You feel that the song tends to break open, and it does when the first song flows into the second by a subtly constructed reverberating guitar riff. The bass, second guitar and the drums do the rest. I hear some new releases every week and occasionally it gives me goosebumps or an adrenalin push. That's what happened to me after listening to I and II as that is how both tracks are called. Post-rock from a Ghent/Wevelgem cooperation. Is it the West Flemish identity that creates this beauty? In any case, we enjoy it. And we do with this EP by CHOK TOW Nation. Five instrumental songs that have a number instead of a title. Songs that last between one and a half and seven minutes.

Post-rock is a term that can cover a lot, but here it is really an appropriate term. The pretty thing about CHOK TOW Nation is that the music is not set in typical song patterns, like a typical rock band, but you feel that they have a specific purpose. Sometimes the guitars sound a bit melancholic, wistful and fanning out like in track III. Song IV is short and sounds subtle and fragile. Also V gave me a boost.

Always nice to find something that brings all kinds of emotions to me. Listen to Bandcamp to this music because you might love it as well. It is also available in a tasteful black digipack with a beautiful colored CD. Yes i'm excited!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Regen, geritsel, gebrom en andere geluiden. Langzaam komt de muziek van bas en synts boven. Je voelt dat het wil openbloeien en dat doet het ook wanneer de eerste song overvloeit in de tweede, en dat via een subtiel opgebouwde galmende gitaarriff.

De bas, de tweede gitaar en de drums doen de rest. Ik hoor wekelijks een aantal nieuwe releases en nu en dan geeft er eentje mij kippenvel of een adrenalinestoot. Dat is wat ik voelde na het beluisteren van I en II, want zo heten de beide tracks. Postrock van een Gentse/Wevelgemse samenwerking. Welke muziekmicroben zitten er in het water rond Kortrijk? SX, Steak Number Eight, Goose, Balthazar… Is het de West-Vlaamse eigenheid die zorgt voor dit moois? In elk geval kunnen we er maar van genieten. En dat doen we met deze ep van CHOK TOW Nation. Vijf instrumentale songs die telkens een nummer in plaats van een titel kregen. Tracks die tussen anderhalve minuut en zeven minuten lang zijn, allemaal in een postrock jasje gestopt.

Postrock is een term die veel ladingen kan dekken, maar hier is het echt wel de geschikte term. Het mooie aan CHOK TOW Nation is dat de muziek niet in het typische songstramien zit zoals bij een doorsnee rockband, maar dat je voelt dat men ergens naartoe werkt. Soms klinken de gitaren wat melancholisch, weemoedig en waaieren ze breed uit zoals in track III. Song IV is een korte track die subtiel en fragiel klinkt en de potentie heeft om een serieuze song te worden. Ook song V blaast mij opnieuw van mijn sokken.

Altijd fijn om iets te ontdekken dat allerlei emoties bij je los maakt. Luister eens op Bandcamp naar deze muziek, want misschien doet ze dat bij jou ook. Tevens te verkrijgen in een smaakvol zwart digipack met een mooi gekleurde CD. Ja, ik ben enthousiast!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T) 11/12/2016 : CHOK TOW NATION - (S/T)

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back