tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation

CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE

Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation

MovieCinema


[76/100]   

Paramount Pictures
09/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In the music business it is Elvis, but in the popcorn section of the film world it is undoubtedly Tom Cruise who’ll survive. The man is already 53, but he still has the look of a teenage boy. Once you're watching a blockbuster with him in it, you even forgive him his Scientology bullshit, With Cruise you should not expect movies that put your brain to work, but anyone who wants to see top entertainment, is still in good hands with him. That is also the case in the fifth Mission Impossible movie. When you leave the cinema, you are not any wiser, nevertheless you have enjoyed 130 minutes of pure Hollywood fun.

When Brian De Palma made a film version of the famous TV series in 1996, he probably never thought that he launched a sort of James Bond franchise. In the sequels Cruise was still the main attraction (what did you think?), but all in all, it seemed as if these film were just a sort of platform for John Woo and JJ Abrams to show the audience all the possible spectacular images they could make. It was Brad Bird (an cartoon artist at Pixar!) who gave with Ghost Protocol the Mission Impossible series a welcome boost. Along with his boss William Brandt (Jeremy Renner), the hilarious computer nerd Benji Dunn (Simon Pegg) and beefcake Luther Stickell (Ving Rhames), they became a real team that let us forget the previous blunders. Of course you still can see Tom Cruise performing the most impossible stunts, but it's more than that!

Times are hard for Ethan Hunt (Tom Cruise). After he is considered to be responsible for blowing up half of the Kremlin, the head of the CIA (Alec Baldwin) demands the American government to shut down the IMF (Impossible Mission Force). Hunt gets no honour, at contrary, he is worldwide hunted by the US government. He is obviously a spy who can do everything, and except saving his own skin, he also succeeds in unmasking an international terrorist organization that has emerged from the womb of MI6 in 130 minutes. He gets the help of the mysterious Isa Faust (Rebecca Ferguson). But Ethan never knows whether she can be trusted or not.

After Jack Reacher, Cruise had so much confidence in Christopher McQuarrie, that he asked him to direct the new Mission Impossible. McQuarrie did a risk-free job, but it is also a qualitative one! Like his fellow Bond, Hunt takes us to all corners of the world (from Minsk to London) and there is no second of rest. It makes you wonder why the scriptwriters made the script at certain moments so complex (sometimes the explanation of a mission seems like physics for advanced students), even if the essence is just that one man must try to save the world. There is no lack of breathtaking stunts: you can see Cruise hanging on an airplane that is taking off, or you can see him as a daredevil with a motorcycle at high speed. He always succeeds in his missions (of course!), and never forgets to show his toothpaste smile afterwards. Cruise is simply Cruise, but in Mission Impossible 5 that is not for one second a disadvantage!

Didier BECU
09/08/2015


NL

In de muzieksector is het Elvis, maar in de popcornsectie van de filmwereld is het zonder twijfel Tom Cruise die blijft bestaan. De man is ondertussen 53, maar hij heeft nog steeds de uitstraling van een tienerknaapje. Eens je naar een blockbuster met hem zit te kijken, vergeef je hem zelfs zijn Scientology-gelul. Vanj Cruise hoef je geen films te verwachten die je brein aan het denken zetten, maar wie entertainment wil om schaamteloos van te smullen, zit bij hem gebeiteld. Dat is ook zo in de vijfde Mission Impossible. Eens je de bioscoop verlaat, ben je geen seconde wijzer geworden, desalniettemin heb je genoten van 130 minuten puur Hollywoodplezier.

Toen Brian De Palma in 1996 een filmversie van de beroemde televisieserie maakte, stelde hij zich waarschijnlijk niet voor dat hij daarmee een soort van James Bond-franchise startte. In de sequels bleef Cruise nog wel het uithangbord (of wat dacht je?), maar al bij al leek het of ze niet meer waren dan een showcase van de spectaculaire beelden waarmee regisseurs kunnen uitpakken. Zowel John Woo als J.J. Abrams verslikten zich in de vele stunts, maar Brad Bird (een tekenaar bij Pixar!) gaf met Ghost Protocol de Mission Impossible-reeks een welkome boost. Samen met baas William Brandt (Jeremy Renner), de komische techneut Benji Dunn (Simon Pegg) en spierbundel Luther Stickell (Ving Rhames) zagen we een team dat de eerdere miskleunen liet vergeten. Natuurlijk zie je Tom Cruise nog steeds de meest onmogelijke stunts uithalen, maar het is meer dan dat!

Het zijn harde tijden voor Ethan Hunt (Tom Cruise). Nadat hij verantwoordelijk wordt geacht voor het opblazen van de helft van het Kremlin, eist het hoofd van de CIA (Alec Baldwin) dat het IMF (Impossible Mission Force) wordt opgedoekt. Hunt krijgt geen gouden handdruk, wel wordt hij door de Amerikaanse overheid wereldwijd opgespoord. Hij is natuurlijk een spion die alles kan, en behalve zijn eigen hachje redden, slaagt hij er ook in om in 130 minuten tijd een internationale terroristenorganisatie te ontmaskeren, die uit de schoot van MI6 is ontsproten. Hij krijgt daarbij de hulp van de geheimzinnige Isa Faust (Rebecca Ferguson). Nooit weet Ethan of ze te vertrouwen is, maar er hangt wel vuurwerk in de lucht.

Cruise had na Jack Reacher zo veel vertrouwen in Christopher McQuarrie, dat hij hem vroeg om ook de nieuwe Mission Impossible voor zijn rekening te nemen. McQuarrie klaarde wel een gevaarloze klus, maar ook een kwalitatieve! Net zoals zijn collega Bond neemt Hunt ons mee naar alle uithoeken van de wereld (van Minsk tot Londen) en is er geen seconde rust. Je vraagt je wel af waarom de scenaristen op sommige ogenblikken het script zo nodeloos ingewikkeld maken (soms lijkt de uitleg van de missies wel op fysica voor vergevorderden), toch is de essentie gewoon dat één man de wereld moet zien te redden. Aan stunts is er geen gebrek: je ziet Cruise aan een opstijgend vliegtuig bengelen of hem halsbrekende toeren met een motor tegen hoge snelheid uithalen. Hij slaagt er steeds in, en hij vergeet na afloop zelfs niet om zijn tandpastaglimlach te tonen of om zijn haartooi goed te leggen. Cruise is nu eenmaal Cruise en dat is in Mission Impossible 5 geen seconde een nadeel!

Didier BECU
09/08/2015


09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation 09/08/2015 : CHRISTOPHER MCQUARRIE - Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party